Getting Started
Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!
You can contact me directly for a consultation.
--Tony
If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap.Google Scholar
From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.
Video Demos
- Article Databases in 5 Minutes (Video, NCSU) General introduction to article database searching
- Searching Omnifile Fulltext Mega (Video, HSU) Demonstrates searching and locating fulltext using Omnifile which includes Humanities Fulltext
- Find Fulltext Articles with Google Scholar (Video) - demonstrates how to set preferences when using Google Scholar to retrieve HSU fulltext articles
- Peer Review in 5 Minutes (NCSU Video) - brief discussion of peer reviewed literature
- Advanced Research Skills: Citation Searching - General introduction to citation searching within databases and using Google Scholar
Highly Recommended Databases
You may come across articles that aren't available in full text. Look for the "Find It @ HSU" icon to borrow fom other libraries with our interlibrary loan service.
- Anthropology PlusCombines 2 files: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
Peer review: Most - ATLAReligionIndex to 600 journals and multi-authored books on religious and theological scholarship from 1949 to the present. Also includes links to the fulltext of articles for approximately 55 of the indexed journals from 1949 to the present.
Peer review: Yes - Humanities Full TextThis database indexes more than 600 periodicals as far back as 1984, over 400 of them peer-reviewed. It also provides fulltext for more than 300 of the titles.
Peer review: Some - JSTORBrowseable and searchable fulltext archive containing all articles from 117 scholarly journals from their first volume to a point five years before the present.
Peer Reviewed
Database Guides When printing in the Library and campus computer labs choose "Option 2" since the Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed and available.
Relationship to Print Edition The HSU Library has many of these journals available in a print edition
Also Recommended Databases
- Academic Search EliteIndexes 3,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1984 to the present. Includes fulltext from 1,200 journals.
Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present - ACLS Humanities E-BookThe ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 1000 books in the field of history, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. Approximately 250 books are added annually to the collection, as well as a carefully selected list of new XML titles that have the potential to use web-based technologies to communicate the results of scholarship in new ways.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions (finding aids) to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- ArticleFirstIndexes the table of contents of 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 to the present. Search by title keyword or author in all journals. Search for articles in a specific journal by author, title or keyword or browse the table of contents of individual issues. See ArticleFirst for further descriptions.
- Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature DatabaseIndexes articles from English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
Usually from Vol. 1 of the indexed periodical. - Bibliography of Asian Studies The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) references western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Peer review: Some scholarly sources are included, but cannot limit to these - Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences CollectionThis database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.
Peer Reviewed Yes - ERIC (EBSCO) Index to education literature, including articles from 775 journals, plus research reports and curricular materials. Most of the non-journal literature is available via an online link (1996 forward) on microfiche in the HSU Library. The database indexes publications 1966 to the present.
Peer review: EJ items generally peer reviewed; ED items generally not; can limit to peer reviewed - Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies Index to scholarly literature on Latin America covering the social sciences and humanities from 1935 to the present.
Peer review: Scholarly materials are included, but cannot limit to these - OmniFile Full Text MegaIndexes over 270 popular magazines in all disciplines and over 2,500 scholarly journals in business, the humanities, general science, education, and the social sciences from 1982 to the present. Includes fulltext to over 1,300 of them from 1994 to the present. Also includes some indexing and fulltext coverage in technology and engineering, art, biology, natural resources, law, and library science.
- WorldCatIndex of 200 million books, government documents, technical reports, media, maps, sound recordings, and other monographic materials found in 50,000 libraries worldwide. See also WorldCat
Peer review: Some
License Agreement: User Rights
Research Help |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art, Dance, Film, History, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Theatre, World Languages & Cultures |
What If HSU Does Not Have the Article I Want?
No library has every item a researcher might want. If you cannot locate a particular item here, you could check with a reference librarian in person or online to be certain . The librarian can also help find alternatives if time is short.
The next step is to request an Interlibrary Loan for the item. To learn more about using this service, take a look at this video introduction.

Loading...
