Getting Started
Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!
You can contact me directly for a consultation.
--Tony
If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap.Print Reference Sources
Here are a few recommended print reference sources available at the HSU Library. Use the call numbers to find the print sources in the Reference collection on the first floor of the library.
- Encyclopedia of Religion. 15 vols. 2005. (Reference BL31 .E46 2005
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. 6 v. (Reference CB9.N49 2005
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 10 v. (Reference B51 .R68 1998)
Additional print reference resources can be found by browsing the shelves of the HSU Library Reference Collection on the Main Floor, in the following call number areas.
- B Philosophy (General)
- BC Logic
- BD Speculative Philosophy
- BJ Ethics
Getting Started
Choose a Topic . Important! You can talk with your professor or ask for help from a librarian if you think you could use some help. For an overview oftopic selection, see the Topics section of HSU Library's Research Roadmap
A great place to try out your topic is Articles +, a service that searches for books and articles simultaneously.
Writing the Philosophy Paper - Read this helpful introduction to academic research on philosophy from Dartmouth University LibraryThere are many ways to Ask A Librarian for help with any assignment, any time, from anywhere.
Plan your time! Structure your time for the project by using HSU's Research Project Calculator. The software will email reminders for deadlines to you if you choose that option.
Online Reference Books
Online Reference Databases
Here are some key titles to browse for topics or find background on your topic:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Search 160 humanities and social sciences encyclopedias and dictionaries for background information
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
On the Web
Finding More Subject Encyclopedias
To find subject encyclopedias, use the HSU Library Catalog, not QuickSearch:
- Choose the Advanced Search tab.
- Type the term(s) for the subject you are looking for in the first Search: box, for example modern dance Use as few words as possible.
- Change any of these to all of these or as a phrase, if needed.
- Change the first within: menu to subject.
- Type encyclopedias dictionaries in the second Search: box. (Many encyclopedias are called dictionaries. It just means that their articles are in alphabetical, or "dictionary," order.)
- Change the second within: menu to subject.
- Click the Search button.

Loading...
