This is the "Finding Grants" page of the "Grants" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grants   Tags: grants  

This guide presents Library resources for identifying potential grant funders.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/grants Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Grants Print Page
  Search: 
 

Grant Databases

  • Foundation Directory Online
    The Foundation Center is an independent nonprofit information clearinghouse that collects, organizes, analyzes, and disseminates information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects. Select either "Grantmakers" or "Grants" to begin (our subscription does not include access to "Corporations") and use the extensive indexes. (restricted to use in the Library only; inquire at the Reference Desk; classes will be given extended access for a limited time period. Remember to LOG OUT)
  • SPIN Sponsored Programs Information Network
    "Over 40,000 opportunities from more than 10,000 global sponsors" - including Federal as well as private/foundation/corporation sources. In Basic Search use Keyword tab if your search terms don't work. Explore "Search Options" and consider including "opportunities that cannot be currently applied for" (restricted to campus users and authenticated HSU remote users)
  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
    The CFDA is a compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. Although there are extensive dropdown menu choices using Advanced Search, it is also possible to search more simply. It can also be searched through Grants.gov: select Find Grant Opportunities and Apply for Grants.
  • Google
    Add the word “grants” to your search. Organization websites often will have a category for Grants or Funding.
 

Federal Government Resources

The Federal Government is a rich source of grant funding of all kinds. Some new online tools make it easier to find government funding: 

Aggregated sources

Databases that pull together information from a variety of agencies and other sources:

Grants.gov has federal grants aimed primarily at the institutional, not individual, level, but there are some limit number of individual grants included in the database.

Federal Student Aid from the Dept. of Education has more general information about the entire student aid process, with many links to further information; primarily for undergrads but has something for students at any stage of their education  http://studentaid.ed.gov/

CareerOneStop from the Dept. of Labor is for students to search for scholarships and educational money at every level (not just undergrads), http://www.careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch/

Individual Government Agencies

GrantsNet -- From the Department of Health & Human Services

National Science Foundation -- Find Funding

National Institute of Health -- Office of Extramural Research

Environmental Protection Agency  -- Grants and Fellowship Information. Includes environmental education grants

Department of Education -- Grants & Contracts

National Endowment for the Humanities -- independent grant-making agency of the U.S. government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

Attribution - This box was created by Oregon State University Libraries.

 

Reference Collection

There are also some useful guides in the Reference Collection. Browse in the vicinity of these sources to find other, similar ones.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Call Number: ref HC 110 P63 U53a
Compendium of federal programs and activities of benefit to state and local governments, organizations, and individuals. Also available online.

The Foundation Directory
Call Number: ref AS 911 A2 F65
Institutions arranged geographically, with subject and name indexes. Also available online.

Annual Register of Grant Support
Call Number: ref AS 911 A2 A67
Publication Date: 2004
Institutions arranged by broad subjects, with specific subject and geographic indexes; also includes a guide to planning and writing a grant proposal.

Cover Art
Grants Register 2006
Call Number: ref AS8 .G7 2006
"The complete guide to postgraduate funding worldwide."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Associations
Call Number: ref HS17 .E53 2010
Regional, state and local organization: the Library has volume 5, Western States.

Directory of Research Grants
Call Number: ref LB 2338 D57
Institutions arranged alphabetically with detailed subject indexes.

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad
Call Number: ref LB 2337 2 F572
If you want to do work in a foreign country, this is for you.

Cover Art
Foundation Grants to Individuals
Call Number: ref LB 2336 F598
The only major publication dealing exclusively with grant opportunities for individuals.

Financial Aid for Native Americans
Call Number: ref LB 2338 S3446

National Indian Grant Directory
Call Number: ref E 98 F3 J36

Directory of Financial Aids for Women
Call Number: ref LB 2338 D564
Many kinds of assistance for women; international scope.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip