Skip to main content

Environmental Resources Engineering

Finding Background Information

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks:
  • Coffel, S.  Encyclopedia of Garbage.  NY: Facts on File, 1996 (ref TD 785.5 C64 1996)
  • CRC Handbook of Energy Efficiency.  Boca Raton FL: CRC Press, 1997  (ref TJ 163.3 C73 1997)
  • Encyclopedia Britannica (includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary) -restricted to HSU faculty, students and staff
  • Encyclopedia of Energy Technology and the Environment. NY: Wiley, 1995 (ref TJ 163.235 E53 1995)
  • Environmental Engineer's Handbook, 2nd ed.  Boca Raton FL: Lewis Publishers, 1997  (ref TD 145 E574 1997)
  • Keller, H. and Erb,U. Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations. NY: Neal Schuman, 1989  (ref TA 11 K45 1989)
  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, 2nd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2003 - restricted to HSU faculty, students and staff
  • Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy. N.Y. : Macmillan Reference USA, 2001 (ref TJ 163.28 M33 2001) Online version restricted to HSU faculty, students and staff
  • Maidment, D.R. Handbook of Hydrology. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1993 (ref GB 662.5 H35 1993)
  • Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering, 2nd ed.  NY: McGraw-Hill, 1999 (ref TD 145 S72 1999)
  • The Civil Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed.  Boca Raton FL: CRC Press, 2003  (ref TA 151 C57 2003)
  • Water Resources Handbook. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1996 (ref TD 345 H257 1996)
  • Scott, J.S. The VNR Dictionary of Civil Engineering, 4th ed. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1993 (ref TA 9 S35 1993)
Guides to the Literature:
  • Auger, C. P. Information Sources in Grey Literature, 3rd ed. London: Bowker-Saur, 1994 (ref T 10.7 A87 1994)
  • Katz, M. and Thornton, D.  Environmental Management Tools on the Internet: Accessing the World of Environmental Information.  Delray Beach FL: St. Lucie Press, 1997  (ref GE 32 K38 1997)
  • Lord, Charles R.  Guide to information sources in engineering. Englewood, CO : Libraries Unlimited, 2000  (ref T10.7 L67 2000)
  • Research Guides: Statistics - Several guides to sources of statistics related to the environment, etc.

Reference Materials

Reference Materials -- can provide you with background information, major theories or researchers, and definitions of key terms. There are print and electronic reference sources in HSU Library.  Print and selected electronic reference materials are listed in the HSU Library Catalog and may be located by adding terms such as encyclopedia?, director?, dictionar?, etc. to your search. You might also try searching for electronic and print reference materials by choosing Reference Collection (including Eref) from the pull-down Optional Limits menu (Title and Keyword Searches Only).