Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.
Stay updated at Campus Ready.
Database to nursing research that includes over 250 tests and measurements, some of which include the full-text of the test. Others entries include a table with specifics on the purpose, population sampled, methodology, type of instrument and test source. Options for finding tests in CINHL include:
Indexes 1) tests that are used in psychological research studies; and 2) studies that have evaluated a specific test or group of tests on a specific topic. For a basic introduction on how to search for tests see the online tutorial In Search of Tests and Measures. In the database you can:
Search for studies that used a specific test or measure--enter your test name using the Tests and Measures field; or use More Search Options to browse for your specific test. (note: it is best to omit the scale, inventory, etc. part of a test name, e.g, use just "myers briggs type".)
Search for tests on a specific topic-- enter subject keywords, e.g., "body image" to find studies on a topic. Review the records you find, looking specifically at the Test and Measures field in the drop down menu to see what tests have been used. Repeat #1 and/or #2 above to find additional studies and information about these tests.
Search for copies of tests -- Repeat #1 above, adding the keyword "appended" in the same box, e.g., "male body image appended". (Since 2004 PsycInfo has added the keyword "appended" in this field if a publication includes the actual copy of the test.)
Includes medical journal articles that have used test and measurement instruments. Options for searching in the database include:
Includes educational journal articles and educational documents that have used test and measurement instruments. Options for searching in the database include:
This database includes the full-text of dissertations and theses. Both published and unpublished tests may be the focus of graduate research or more typically used in the research design. Copies of unpublished tests are often included in the appendices of a dissertation or thesis. Search by test name or use subject keywords along with keywords for "test", e.g., "body image and test".