Learn more about how the HSU Library can help
support your research and learning needs as the campus transitions to online instruction.

Stay updated at HSU Campus Ready.

Skip to main content

California Environment Information Sources

Magazines and Journals

Environmental History

Data Compilations

CA - Wildlife - Birds Maps

Greater San Joaquin Important Bird Areas
  • Bird Maps (Washington NatureMapping Program) Includes distribution maps by species for California birds.
  • Catalog of California Seabird Colonies (Sowls) 1980 (print copy available in Docs I 49.2:SE1/4) (FWS/OBS-80/37) Summary of the location, size and species composition of seabird colonies along the coast of California. Includes species accounts for 17 California seabirds followed by a series of 1:24,000 scale maps of seabird colonies documenting 260 nesting areas. For each area gives species present and number of breeding birds.
  • California's Important Bird Areas (Audubon California) Includes information on 145 important bird areas in California. These sites provide essential habitat for one or more bird species for breeding, wintering, and/or migration. Each site description includes a site summary, ornithological significance, conservation issues and site map. Also includes state and regional maps and downloadable gis data.
  • Life History Accounts and Range Maps: Birds (California Department of Fish & Game) Contains species accounts, distribution maps and literature references for 344 birds found in California. Species accounts include notes on distribution, abundance and seasonality; habitat requirements for feeding, cover, reproduction, water and pattern; and life history. Accounts are intermediate in detail between treatment found in typical field guide and a more extensive literature review. Distribution maps show winter, summer and yearlong range. Distribution maps originally were published in Distribution of California Birds (Grenfell and Laudenslayer) 1983 (Docs A 13.2: C12/7). Prepared as part of the California Departments of Fish and Game's California Wildlife Habitat Relationships Program. The print version was published as California's Wildlife Vol. 2 Birds (Zeiner, Laudenslayer, Mayer and White) 1990 (ref QL 164 C26) The online version contains updated species accounts and distribution maps.

Guides and Bibliographies

General Introductions