Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.
Stay updated at Campus Ready.
Listed below are several databases that will send you the table of contents when a new issue of a key journal is available. Some of these databases will also run your stored search strategy periodically and send you any new references that result from the search. Also see Current Awareness in the Sciences for more ways to keep current.
ACS Publications - Full text database providing access to the scholarly publishing program of the American Chemical Society (ACS) the world’s largest and most influential scientific society in the field of chemistry. You can sign up for free email alerts which are of two types: (1) ASAP (As Soon As Publishable) Alerts of articles posted to the web before being assigned to an issue; and (2) Table of Contents Alerts sent when the complete issue is posted on the web.
Ei Engineering Village Alerts - Receive weekly notification of new research indexed in the GeoRef or Geobase databases. To set up your profile, click on the Create Alert link at the top of the Results List. You may also set up an alert by clicking on the Search History link at the topof the search screen and clicking on the Add Email Alert box following the search statement(s) you wish to have searched automatically. See Creating an email alert for more information.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier's full text database of over 1100 journals in 24 fields of study has three types of alerts: (1) Search Alerts of new articles that match a saved search strategy; (2)Volume/ Issue Alerts which send tables of contents as issues are published; and (3) Topic Alertswhich send a notice when new articles pertaining to a specific topic are available on ScienceDirect.
SpringerLink - Complete contents of more than 2200 journals published by Springer and Kluwer in many scientific subject categories including Earth and Environmental Science. You can sign up for table of contents alerts and/or new book alerts to keep up in your field of interest.
Wiley Online Library - Wiley-Blackwell's full text database of over 1500 journals has an e-Alertsservice which sends tables of contents via eamil or RSS feed as soon as issues are published. You may also save a search and have any new content matching your search criteria sent to you via email. Individual users may register to create personal home pages incorporating data files, article links, and stored searches.