Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.
Stay updated at Campus Ready.
California County High Points (Carey) Lists the highest point in each California county. Includes name, elevation, climbing class, UTM coordinates, and topographic quadrangle.
California Gold Camps (Gudde) 1975 (Ref F 865 G83) "Geographical and Historical Dictionary of Camps, Towns, and Localities Where Gold was Found and Mined; Wayside Stations and Trading Centers." Includes maps of selected places names, extensive bibliography and list of places by county.
California Historical Landmarks (California Department of Parks and Recreation Office of Historic Preservation) (1990 print copy available in Ref F 862 C12 1990) Lists over 1000 buildings, structures, sites, or places that have been determined to have statewide historical significance. The online site lists California Registered Landmarks by county. The print version also includes alphabetical and numeric indexes.
California Index of Towns (USGenNet) From the 1895 Rand McNally New Atlas of the World. Each entry includes population; county; location on state map; and if the location has a post office, railroad or express office.
California Peaks (Climber.org) Alphabetical list of 1993 peaks that range in elevation from 5710 ft. to 14494 ft. Each entry includes links to the Geographic Names Information System entry and to maps in TopoZone. Some entries include links to photographs and to the Sierra Nevada Peaks List.
California Place Names: The Origin and Etymology of Current Geographical Names (Gudde) 1998 (ref F 859 G79 1998) The definitive reference on California place names.
California Place Names of Indian Origin (Kroeber) 1916 (print copy available in E 51 C15) (University of California Publications in American Archaeology and Ethnology Vol. 12 No. 2)
California Places of Interest (Maher) Uses Google Maps to map California place names found in the Geographic Names Information System. Select a county and then one or more natural or manmade features to map matching features.
California Points of Interest (Historical Map Works) Lists over 110,000 physical and cultural place names (schools, churches, cemeteries, lakes, streams, populated places. etc.) found on over 8,000 historical California maps. Maps have a limited public view.
California's Geographic Names: A Gazetteer of Historic and Modern Names of the State (Durham) 1998 (ref F 859 D87 1998)
California's Spanish Place-Names : What They Mean and How They Got There (Marinacci and Marinacci) 1980 (Ref F 861 M32) "Dictionary-index" to place names gives pronunciation.
Geographical Locator (Gustafson) Use a clickable map of California to identify the following location specific information: latitude/longitude; legal description, including township and range; elevation; gradient and aspect; state, county and FIPS code; hydrologic unit name and code; nearby named places from the Geographic Names Information System; 7.5 minute USGS topographic maps for the area; and links to online 1:100,000 scale maps and other online maps for the area.
Historic Spots in California (Hoover, Rensch, Rensch and Abeloe) 2002 (Ref F 862 H57 2002) Contains detailed descriptions by county of historic landmarks that highlight events and places in California history.
Jepson Place Name Index (Jepson Herbarium) Contains approximately 41,000 place names found on Jepson Herbarium botanical collection labels. Over a period of approximately 50 years, staff and associates of the Jepson Herbarium have reserched these place names using maps in libraries and archives at Berkeley and elsewhere.
Named Freeways, Highways, Structures and Other Appurtenances In California (California Department of Transportation) Provides information on officially named freeways, highways, Blue Star Memorial highways, highway structures, roadside rests, and plaques on the California highways.
Named Highways and Structures: an Index (California Highways) Alphabetical list of names given to highways and structures in and on the California state highway system. For each name, a link is given to the page for that highway, where more details about the name can be found.
National Register of Historic Places: California (US National Park Service) (1994 print copy available in Ref E 159 N3418) Lists districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. Within each state sites are organized by county.
Place Names in California (California Department of Transportation) Annually updated list of places shown on CalTrans California Road System (CRS) maps. CRS maps show all public roads, the functional classification of public roads, cities, urban-rural boundaries and other features.
Spanish and Indian Place Names of California: Their Meaning and Their Romance (Sanchez) 1914 (print copy available in ref F 859 S26) Place names are organized in regional chapters.
Whipple Well: A Database for Mining, Prospecting, Metal Detecting, And Treasure Hunting in California (CalSign) Database of current and historical places names derived from various sources, organized by county. For each entry gives information on type of feature, geographic coordinates and U.S.G.S 7.5 minute topographic quadrangle.