Skip to main content

World Languages & Cultures Research Guide

Search the Reference Collection

HSU Reference Collection
Search here to find reference sources at HSU.

Finding Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Most of these materials will be in the Reference Collection, but some will be on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

Material

   Construction of Search

  Links

Encyclopedias 

                                                       

   SUBJECT search:
   encyclopedias dictionaries [language]       

 

 Spanish 

 

 

 French 

  

 

 German 

  

 

 Chinese 

  

 

 Japanese

  

Dictionaries

   SUBJECT search:
   [language] language dictionaries

 

Spanish

 

 

French

 

 

German

 

 

Chinese

 

 

Japanese

 

Bilingual
Dictionaries
(w/ English)

   SUBJECT search:
   [language] language dictionaries English

 

Spanish

  

 

French

 

 

German

 

 

Chinese

 

 

Japanese

 

 

Browse the Reference Collection

Use this Quick Guide to browse the HSU Library Reference Collection (1st floor) for dictionaries and thesauri:

PC2625       French language dictionaries
PC 2640 French-English / English-French dictionaries         
PC 4625 Spanish language dictionaries
PC 4640 Spanish-English / English-Spanish dictionaries
PF 3625 German language dictionaries
PF 3640 German-English / English-German dictionaries
PL 1455 Chinese-English / English-Chinese dictionaries

You can find English language thesauri in the following call number location:

PE 1591      English language thesauri                                          

Browse the Reference Collection

Use this guide to browse the Reference Collection (1st floor) for resources on English Studies:

PA Greek and Latin languages & literatures
PB Modern languages. Celtic languages
PC Romance languages
PD Germanic languages
PE 1591          English language thesauri
PE 1625-1628 English language dictionaries
PF West Germanic languages
PG Slavic languages
PH Uralic & Basque languages
PJ Oriental language & literatures
PK Indo-Iranian languages & literatures
PL Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania languages & literatures
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages
PN                            Literature (General), literary criticism
PQ French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese lit
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT European literature (those not in PQ)

.

See the full P classification here.

Online Dictionaries

Encyclopedias at HSU

These are some encyclopedias you will find in the HSU Library Reference Collection. For additional help, please visit the Research Help Desk or Contact a Librarian: