Skip to main content

Getting Started

Getting Started

Do you need to ...

find the best database(s) for your topic?
Databases by Subject lists recommended databases for most curricular areas taught at HSU.

find a specific database?
Databases A-Z lists by title all databases available through the HSU Library.

find a few good articles on your topic?
Academic Search Elite and OmniFile Full Text Mega are two multidisciplinary databases that index important journals covering all topics.

find scholarly peer-reviewed articles on my topic?
Most HSU Library databases, such as Academic Search Elite and OmniFile Full Text Mega, allow you the option to limit to scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. For background information on knowing if an article is scholarly check out these online videos.

find a book on your topic?
The HSU Library Catalog lists all of the books at our library. You can use the HSU Library Catalog to find media too.  A keyword search is usually the best way to begin.  When you find items of interest, check the catalog records for subject headings or other terms to modify your search.

use library resources from off campus?
All library databases are available off-campus to HSU students, faculty and staff. See Off Campus Access to Databases for assistance. Open Access Databases are unrestricted databases available to all users.

find out if the Library has a specific journal?
The Journal and Newspaper Finder lists all print and fulltext journals, magazines, newspapers, and other serials that are available through the HSU Library, along with dates of coverage. Search by title and keyword. You can also find out what journals are available by broad subject category. If you have a specific article citation you can use the Citation Linker to find out fulltext availability.

know how to cite information?
Research Guide on most comonly used citation styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, CSE, etc).