Skip to main content

Special Collections: Usage and Research

About

The Library's Special Collections complement the resources of the general Library collections. They are acquired and maintained in support of the University's curriculum with emphasis on the natural resources, Native peoples, and primary industries of Northwestern California, including the history of Humboldt State University. Access to the collections is provided primarily through the Library's catalog and this webpage. Materials are available for use in the Humboldt Room by HSU students, faculty, and staff as well as visiting scholars and the general public. 

Contact the Library

Ask-A-Librarian

There are many ways to get in contact with a HSU Librarian.

  • Library Directory.

  • Chat online with a librarian for 24/7 reference for students, staff, and faculty. This is a nationwide cooperative effort to provide remote Librarian access. 

  • General inquiry help at the Research Help Desk. Located on the first floor, feel free to ask any question and get help with your research projects and assignments.  If you can't drop by, give the Research Help Desk a call at 826-3418.

 

Related Guides

Citing Items From Special Collections

This guide serves as a resource for citing items you find in Special Collections. You may be required to cite primary sources such as photographs, collections, pamphlets, and other materials. Many citation styles exist outside of the styles covered in this guide (APA, Chicago, MLA). Consult the style guide you are using to learn how to cite your chosen source appropriately.

Copyright for Educators

This guide can help faculty, staff, and students engaged with pedagogy understand the exceptions and limitations to copyright in an academic setting.

Copyright restrictions are a concern for all educators as we plan for instruction. This guide can provide you with an introduction to some of the notable copyright exceptions and limitations that impact your ability to share resources with your students.