Skip to main content

International Studies Research Guide

International Studies

Reference Books

The Reference Collection has:

  • specialized encyclopedias and thesauri
  • biographical dictionaries of notable people
  • compilations of statistics
  • bibliographies listing key works in your area of study

Use reference materials to:

  • browse for ideas to research
  • develop a framework or context for your specific investigation
  • get names of people and places important for the topic, key dates, and other information to use in further research
  • use the bibliography or list of recommended books and articles to begin more in-depth research.

International Studies: reference examples

These are some examples of reference resources on various topics on International Studies. There are also many specialist references for different subject areas. For additional help, please visit the Research Help Desk, use the box below or Contact a Librarian:

Development Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Dictionary of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society (Welsh and Butorin) 1990 (Ref HC 59.7 D513 1990) Three volume scholarly encyclopedic dictionary covering development subjects, organizations and countries. Some entries are up to a page in length and include references.
  •  Global Development: a Reference Handbook (Savitt and Bottorf) 1995 (HC 59.7 S283 1995) Provides an introduction to global development issues and resources. Chapters present a overview of issues, facts and statistics, chronology, biographical sketches, leading organizations, and print and nonprint resources.
  • Historical Dictionary of Aid and Development Organizations (Arnold) 1996 (Ref HC 60 A738 1996) Contains descriptive and analytical entries for the principal organizations, events, programs and concepts that have played a role in defining and promoting development since 1945..
  • Women in the Third World: A Reference Handbook (Kinnear) 1997 (HQ 1870.9 K58 1997) Provides an introduction to issues and resources dealing with women in developing countries. Chapters present a overview of issues, facts and statistics, chronology, biographical sketches, leading organizations, and print and nonprint resources.
  • Word Watch Glossary (International Institute for Sustainable Development)

Finding More Reference Books

To find reference books, you can go to the first floor of the library or search the HSU Library Catalog:

  • Enter keywords or search terms
  • Search as a "Keyword" or "Title"
  • Limit to "Reference Collection"
  • Click Search

For additional help, please visit the Research Help Desk or Contact a Librarian.

Online Reference Databases

General Online Maps

Development Maps

  • MiniAtlas of Global Development (World Bank) 2003 (print copy available in Atlas G 1046 E1 W6 2004) Provides small-scale world maps, tables, and graphs that highlight key social, economic, and environmental data for 208 countries and territories

  • Poverty Mapping (FAO, UNEP and the CGIAR) Collection of world and regional poverty maps grouped into the following themes-- demographic indicators; economy and markets; education; energy; food security; health; poverty indicators; urban areas; and water and sanitation. These poverty maps are spatial representations of poverty assessments e.g., indicators of income poverty (such as GDP per capita or daily subsistence levels), or of well-being (such as life expectancy, child mortality, or literacy)

  • UC Atlas of Global Inequality (University of California, Santa Cruz. Center for Global, International and Regional Studies) Contains data and graphics for individual countries and maps on a global scale that focus on globalization inequality from 1960 to 2000.

Need Help?

There are many ways to Ask A Librarian for help with any assignment, any time, from anywhere.

You can email your librarian directly to set up a research consulation.

Visit the Library Research Tutorial for ideas about where to start your research project or paper.