Skip to main content

International Studies Research Guide

International Studies

General Databases

There are general search databases that may be useful as you get started. They will not necessarily have everything you need, but they are a starting point.

Databases - Discipline/Region

These databases and search engines are more topic and region-related. They should help you find more in-depth articles and, if you already know your area, are also a good place to find material from the beginning.

Databases - Development Issues

  • BRIDGE (Institute of Development Studies)  Information and analysis service on development and gender. Includes fulltext documents by topic, country reports and the Siyanda searchable database of gender and development materials from across the world,

  • Campus Center for Appropriate Technology Library (Humboldt State University) Catalog of the approximately 900 titles available at CCAT on the Humboldt State University campus.

  • East African Development Library (Humanities Development Project and Unesco)  2001 (cd-rom available in HC 860 .E38 2001) Contains 590 publications (55,000 pages) on east African development issues. Search by subject, keyword, title or organization.

  • IRCDOC (International Water and Sanitation Centre)  Bibliographic database containing 16,000 references on water supply and sanitation in developing countries. Includes documents held in the IRC Reference Library and documents available on the Internet

Finding Full Text Articles

If you don't see the full text article, click on "Find It@HSU":

"Find It" will locate your article online, or direct you to the print journal on the 2nd floor of the library.

If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it via

with no additional fee. Electronic articles can often arrive within 48 hours.

Search Lexis Nexis

LexisNexis® Academic

Search News on LexisNexis Academic

About LexisNexis|Terms and Conditions|Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2012 LexisNexis, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Google Scholar

From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.