Skip to main content

Economics Research Guide

A guide for conducting research in the Economics program

Starting Out: Search Terms

Below are examples of how you can combine search terms and narrow your query. Your search terms can be broad to gain an overview of a topic or narrow for more specific results. Such terms can be used on their own or combined with others to discover topics that may interest you. For example, use two phrases in an advanced search to narrow your results: consumer AND demand will provide a list of articles discussing the various issues surrounding the market demand and consumers, including how consumers affect market demand.

If you find far too many search results even after combining search terms, try altering and/or adding some terms. In the example above, I found over 241,000 results- but when I changed my search and added a third phrase (consumer AND demand AND advertising), I narrowed my results to just over 2,100.

Having a hard time selecting keywords or search terms for your topic? Use a Keyword Generator to identify your search terms. You can then use these terms to search in the library's Articles+ database, which includes the HSU Library's physical collection as well as electronic databases and other outside materials.

Picking a Topic

Guide to Sources

IS THIS THE RIGHT SOURCE? TYPES OF SOURCES AND WHAT THEY CAN DO FOR YOUR RESEARCH  PRIMARY SOURCES These are original materials that have not been interpreted  or analyzed.  They can be used as evidence in your research. Primary Source
Examples: Newspaper, Photographs, Data, Journal articles , Letters or diaries, Speeches , Novels or poems and more! SECONDARY SOURCES These sources are not first hand accounts , but rather analysis or discussion of events after they have happened or after a primary source was created. Secondary Sources can provide further evidence and support your argument. Secondary Source
Examples: Encyclopedias, Histories, Literary Criticism, Review Articles, Literature Review, Research Paper, and more! TERTIARY SOURCES These are collections of primary and secondary sources and do not have critical analysis or interpretation. Tertiary sources help you locate other sources and information. Tertiary Source Examples:
Bibliographies, Directories, Indexes, Manuals, Finding Aids, And More! NEED MORE HELP? ASK A LIBRARIAN! Visit the Research Help Desk Mon.-Thurs. (10-7pm), Fri. (10-1pm), Sun. (1-5pm)
Try the 24/7 online chat if you need help after hours.

 

Library Resources


Find books, articles, media, and course reserves

Journals in Your Subject

If you aren't sure about what you would like to research or where you should be looking for research that is relevant to your field, browsing journals is a great way to start narrowing down what you are interested in and finding valuable research. Below is a list of selected journals that we have at HSU.  Part of developing and expanding your knowledge about your field is reading the scholarly literature. Try finding a few journals that are relevant to your interests and read them to keep up with new scholarship! You can search for a specific journal title using the Journal Finder here. Enter the journal name and select the "Contains" radio button. 


Economic Perspectives

Journal of Business & Economic Statistics

Journal of Finance

Journal of Political Economy

Quarterly Journal of Economics

The North American Journal of Economics and Finance