Getting Started
Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!
You can contact me directly for a consultation.
--Tony
If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap.Google Scholar
From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.
Databases for Dance - Highly Recommended
These databases are the most likely to have content relevant to dance research topics.
- Academic Search EliteScholarly and popular articles on many subjects, including criticism, performance reviews, book reviews, profiles of individuals, etc.
- ERIC (EBSCO)Published and unpublished education literature, including articles from 775 journals, research reports and curricular materials. Most of the unpublished material is available on microfiche in our library or on the web
- SPORTDiscusEmphasizes sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, physical education and recreation
Databases for Subject - Also Recommended
These databases are also useful for dance research topics. Many are relevant to specialized areas such as the history of dance, or dance in Asian countries, etc.
- Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus combines 2 files: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.Peer Reviewed Most Publications Indexed Journals Indexed by Anthropological Literature
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown - America: History and Life
Index to scholarly research from 1964 to the present on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present appearing in 2,000 journals, book chapters, dissertations, and media.Peer Reviewed Scholarly sources, not all are peer reviewed License Agreement User Rights
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown - Bibliography of Asian Studies
Identify western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.Peer Reviewed Some scholarly sources are included, but cannot limit to these Publications Indexed Journal Titles Relationship to Print Edition Bibliography of Asian Studies 1957-1991; 1957-68 bound with v.16-28 of the Journal of Asian Studies SHELVED AS Periodical Collection DS 501 F274 1969-1991 License Agreement Subscription Agreement
Coverage Dates: 1971 - present - Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
This database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.Peer Reviewed Yes
Coverage Dates: 1637 - present - Handbook of Latin American Studies
Books and other sources selected by experts on many subjects related to Latin America. Many are in Spanish.Peer Reviewed Scholarly materials are included, but cannot limit to these Database Guides HLAS Online Help Relationship to Print Edition Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935 to the present) (abstr F 1401 H23)
Coverage Dates: 1935 - present - Historical Abstracts
Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database of over 2,000 journals is packed with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square.Peer Reviewed Yes
Coverage Dates: 1950s - present - LexisNexis Academic
Fulltext database containing over 12,000 news, business, legal, and other sources including newspapers, magazines, radio and television transcripts, newswires, newsletters, opinion polls, and legal materials. For additional description see LexisNexis Academic. To search for a particular title, use the HSU Library Journal and Newspaper Finder.Peer Reviewed Some Database Guides Tutorials and Product Guides; LexisNexis Wiki for Higher Education Publications Indexed Content Reports License Agreement <="" a="">
Coverage Dates: varies; most 1990s - varies - MLA Bibliography
Comprehensive, international listing of literary criticism and theory, linguistics, film and drama criticism, cultural studies, and folklore, covering articles, book chapters, books, and more. Can limit by language and to type of resource, such as journal articles. See also MLA International Bibliography.Peer Reviewed Yes List of Publications Indexed Master List of Periodicals (pdf)
Coverage Dates: 1926 - present - Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2002, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. Coverage 1952-present. (Deep archive dating back as far as the 1920s for some titles.)Peer Reviewed Partial; can limit Database Guide Sociological Abstracts Factsheet Publications Indexed Serials Source List Relationship to Print Edition Sociological Abstracts (1953-1996) (Abstract HM1 S67)
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown
Research Help |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art, Dance, Film, History, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Theatre, World Languages & Cultures |

Loading...
