This guide lists key print resources in the HSU Library and resources found on the Internet that focus on international development, sustainable development, appropriate technology and women in development. For additional assistance please contact Robert Sathrum, Natural Resources Librarian.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society (Welsh and Butorin) 1990 (Ref HC 59.7 D513 1990) Three volume scholarly encyclopedic dictionary covering development subjects, organizations and countries. Some entries are up to a page in length and include references.
- Dictionary of Environment and Develoment: People, Places, Ideas, and Organizations (Crump) 1991 (Ref GE 10 C78 1991) Description for the 800 entries range from a paragraph to one page.
- Encyclopedia of Sustainable Development (Atmosphere, Climate & Environment Information Programme, Atmospheric Research & Information Centre, Manchester Metropolitan University) Contains short articles, central to the concepts and understanding of sustainable development, that cover the Earth, principles of sustainable development, the environment, natural resources, society, economy and indicators of sustainable development.
- Global Development: a Reference Handbook (Savitt and Bottorf) 1995 (HC 59.7 S283 1995) Provides an introduction to global development issues and resources. Chapters present a overview of issues, facts and statistics, chronology, biographical sketches, leading organizations, and print and nonprint resources.
- Historical Dictionary of Aid and Development Organizations (Arnold) 1996 (Ref HC 60 A738 1996) Contains descriptive and analytical entries for the principal organizations, events, programs and concepts that have played a role in defining and promoting development since 1945..
- International Development Dictionary (Fry and Martin) 1991 (Ref HF 1359 F79 1991)
- Women in the Third World: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues (Stromquist) 1998 (Ref HQ 1870.9 W6548 1998) Scholarly encyclopedia covering women's issues in developing countries.
- Women in the Third World: A Reference Handbook (Kinnear) 1997 (HQ 1870.9 K58 1997) Provides an introduction to issues and resources dealing with women in developing countries. Chapters present a overview of issues, facts and statistics, chronology, biographical sketches, leading organizations, and print and nonprint resources.
- Word Watch Glossary (International Institute for Sustainable Development)
Internet Portals and Gateways
See also the gateways and portals listed under Country-Specific Reports and Statistics.
- Eldis Gateway to Development Information (Institute of Development Studies) Major information service that filters, strucutres and presents development information via the web and email. Includes over 15,000 online documents and 15,000 email messages. Sections includes subject-focused Resource Guides that provide access to key documents, organisations, research themes, discussions and other key resources; Websites Directory of key development websites, arranged by subject; Country Profiles that list for each developing country available information subdivided by subject; and subject newsfeeds and emails that automatically send new information in preselected subject categories.
- Sustainableworld.com (Grand River Informatics) Directory of free (or at least reasonably affordable) sources of national economic and social data online useful in development issues.
- Virtual Library on International Development: a collection of links to international development resources on the Internet (Canadian International Development Agency) Subdivided by topics, countries, regions, organizations and development reference desk.
- Women in Development (Corryn Crosby-Muilenburg) Part of the HSU Library research guide covering Anthropology Resources on the Web.
- WWW Virtual Library: International Development (Wayne A. Selcher)
- WWW Virtual Library: Sustainable Development (Center for Economic and Social Studies on the Environment Université Libre de Bruxelles)