Mathematics Databases - Highly Recommended
Databases for History - Highly Recommended
How do I find articles in journals on my topic?
Articles in journals may be found by using Databases that index the literature related to your subject area. Most of these databases (or indexes) also provide summaries (abstracts) of the articles as well as links to the full text of the article. For this reason, databases may also be referred to as Indexes/Abstracts.
In addition to journal articles, indexes/abstracts may also index articles/reports published in conference proceedings, government documents, technical reports, dissertations, and other sources. Indexes/abstracts vary in scope, depth and breadth of subject coverage. The Research Roadmap: Searching online tutorial and the Search Strategy Worksheet give a step-by-step description of how to develop your search. There are also search strategy guides tailored to science: Identifying Concepts and Generating Search Terms and AND, OR, NOT (Boolean Operators).
NOTE: Most electronic indexes/abstracts/databases are available only to HSU faculty, students and staff. You will need to identify yourself in order to search them. For more information, watch our video: Access the Library Databases from Off-Campus.
Finding Fulltext for Articles
Some articles will be available in fulltext, attached to the record in the database. If the fulltext isn't there, use the "Find It @ HSU" button to see if the article is in another database that we have.
If the fulltext is not available, we may have the article in a print journal. The "Find It" button will show this, also. If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it on interlibrary loan and will receive an electronic copy in about one week. Here is a video on how to use Interlibrary Loan.
If you know of a particularly relevant or "classic" article on your topic, you may use Citation Searching to locate more recent articles which cite that relevant or classic article. Google Scholar is useful when searching citations. The Advanced Scholar Search option is the best way to search for articles which cite a known article. Please see our captioned video tutorial, Advanced Research Skills: Citation Searching, for more information. More ways to search citations may also be found in the Citation Searching section of Searching the Scientific Literature.