This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Music Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Research Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!

You can contact me directly for a consultation.

--Tony

If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap

Google Scholar

From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.



 

Finding Article Fulltext - Generic

Some articles will be available in fulltext, attached to the record in the database.  If the fulltext isn't there, use the "Find It @ HSU" button to see if the article is in another database that we have. 

The How-to videos show how to do this in the Academic Search Elite or the OmniFile databases.

If the fulltext is not available, we may have the article in a print journal. The "Find It @ HSU" button will show this, also. If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it on interlibrary loan and will receive an electronic copy in about one week. The Getting Started box has a video explaining how to use interlibrary loan.

 

How To Videos

This short video shows how to search Academic Search Elite, one of the best databases for beginning research:

Database: Academic Search Elite

This video shows how to use our interlibrary loan service, which is free.  Use it to borrow books or get copies of articles that our library doesn't have.  Sometimes, you can borrow videos or CDs, too.  All you have to do is supply the information about what you want to borrow; we will do the rest.  Items usually come in about a week.

Interlibrary Loan 

Here is a link to all of our short how-to videos for library research.  Some were created by librarians at Humboldt State; some come from other places.  We hope they will help you.

http://library.humboldt.edu/infoservices/vidtutorials.html

Databases for Music - Highly Recommended

You may come across articles that aren't available in full text. Look for the "Find It @ HSU" icon to borrow fom other libraries with our interlibrary loan service.

  • Academic Search Elite
    Indexes 3,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1984 to the present. Includes fulltext from 1,200 journals.
    Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
    Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
  • ArticleFirst
    Indexes the table of contents of 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 to the present. Search by title keyword or author in all journals. Search for articles in a specific journal by author, title or keyword or browse the table of contents of individual issues. See ArticleFirst for further descriptions.
  • JSTOR
    Browseable and searchable fulltext archive containing all articles from 117 scholarly journals from their first volume to a point five years before the present.
    Peer Reviewed
    Database Guides When printing in the Library and campus computer labs choose "Option 2" since the Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed and available.
    Relationship to Print Edition The HSU Library has many of these journals available in a print edition
  • Oxford Music Online
    This gateway allows individual or combined searching of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music. The What’s New Page has more information.
    Peer review: Yes

Databases for Music - Also Recommended

  • Anthropology Plus
    Combines 2 files: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
    Peer review: Most
  • ATLAReligion
    Index to 600 journals and multi-authored books on religious and theological scholarship from 1949 to the present. Also includes links to the fulltext of articles for approximately 55 of the indexed journals from 1949 to the present.
    Peer review: Yes
  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
    This database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.
    Peer Reviewed Yes
  • GenderWatch
    A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, it is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
    Peer Reviewed: Partial
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Fulltext database containing over 12,000 news, business, legal, and other sources including newspapers, magazines, radio and television transcripts, newswires, newsletters, opinion polls, and legal materials. For additional description see LexisNexis Academic. To search for a particular title, use the HSU Library Journal and Newspaper Finder.
  • Project MUSE
    167 fulltext scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Some journals are backfile only, but most cover both current and archival issues.
    Peer review: Yes

Research Help

Profile Image
Tony López
Contact Info
Arts & Humanities Librarian
(707) 826-5600
Lib 15
Send Email
 

Getting Started

There are many ways to Ask A Librarian for help with any assignment, any time, from anywhere.

Research Roadmap is a set of brief tutorials with basic information for conducting library research. It explains

  • primary and secondary sources
  • popular and scholarly, or peer-reviewed, articles

how to

  • select a topic
  • search effectively
  • locate articles and books in the library and on the web
  • evaluate the suitability of sources your find
  • document your sources to avoid plagiarism and participate in the scholarly conversation

 

 

Please share your thoughts

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip