Google Scholar
From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.
Comments (0)
Databases for Theatre & Drama - Highly Recommended
You may come across articles that aren't available in full text. Look for the "Find It @ HSU" icon to borrow fom other libraries with our interlibrary loan service.
- Academic Search EliteIndexes 3,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1984 to the present. Includes fulltext from 1,200 journals.
Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present - ARTstorARTstor can help you find images for your presentation. Register in order to download Power Point presentations directly from ARTstor.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexes 400 scholarly and popular magazines on communications and mass media. Includes fulltext for nearly 200 journals. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals and selected coverage for over 100 more.
Peer Reviewed: Partial, can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown - JSTORBrowseable and searchable fulltext archive containing all articles from 117 scholarly journals from their first volume to a point five years before the present.
Peer Reviewed
Database Guides When printing in the Library and campus computer labs choose "Option 2" since the Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed and available.
Relationship to Print Edition The HSU Library has many of these journals available in a print edition - MLA Bibliography Comprehensive index to 4,000 journals and serials as well as book chapters on modern literatures, languages, linguistics and folklore from 1926 to the present.
Peer review: Yes - OmniFile Full Text MegaIndexes over 270 popular magazines in all disciplines and over 2,500 scholarly journals in business, the humanities, general science, education, and the social sciences from 1982 to the present. Includes fulltext to over 1,300 of them from 1994 to the present. Also includes some indexing and fulltext coverage in technology and engineering, art, biology, natural resources, law, and library science.
- Project MUSE167 fulltext scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Some journals are backfile only, but most cover both current and archival issues.
Peer review: Yes
Databases for Theatre & Drama - Also Recommended
These databases are also useful for theatre and drama research. Most have specialized information such as stage design, sacred aspects of drama, or a particular regional or political perspective.
- America: History and LifeIndex to scholarly research from 1964 to the present on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present appearing in 2,000 journals, book chapters, dissertations, and media.
Peer review: Scholarly sources, not all are peer reviewed - Art Full TextIndex to 260 international art publications including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from 1984 to the present.
Peer review: Can limit to peer reviewed - ArticleFirstIndexes the table of contents of 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 to the present. Search by title keyword or author in all journals. Search for articles in a specific journal by author, title or keyword or browse the table of contents of individual issues. See ArticleFirst for further descriptions.
- ATLAReligionIndex to 600 journals and multi-authored books on religious and theological scholarship from 1949 to the present. Also includes links to the fulltext of articles for approximately 55 of the indexed journals from 1949 to the present.
Peer review: Yes - Bibliography of Asian Studies The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) references western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Peer review: Some scholarly sources are included, but cannot limit to these - Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences CollectionThis database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.
Peer Reviewed Yes - Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press, searchable by author, title of article, and keyword in title or fulltext. Searches may be segmented by ethnic group. The database offers a Spanish language search interface as well as Spanish fulltext materials.
Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: Varies; earliest begin in 1992 - present - GenderWatchA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, it is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Peer Reviewed: Partial - Handbook of Latin American Studies Index to scholarly literature on Latin America covering the social sciences and humanities from 1935 to the present.
Peer review: Scholarly materials are included, but cannot limit to these - Historical AbstractsComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database of over 2,000 journals is packed with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square.
Peer review: Yes - Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online Fulltext database of 2nd edition containing 240 literary essays on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historic periods.
Peer review: Essays by scholars
Research Help |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art, Dance, Film, History, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Theatre, World Languages & Cultures |

Loading...
