This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Criminology & Justice Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminology & Justice Studies   Tags: criminal justice studies, criminology, social justice, sociology  

Last Updated: Jan 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/content.php?pid=510931 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases - Highly Recommended

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Comprehensive database of scholarly literature from the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, with some coverage of criminology and criminal justice studies. The database provides access to abstracts, citations, and some full-text coverage of journal articles, serial publications, books, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • Social Sciences Full Text  Icon
    Full text database providing access to journals covering the latest concepts, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Access to more than 13,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1975 to the present.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega  Icon
    Provides a wide range of research resources, including subject coverage in the applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
  • GenderWatch  Icon
    Full text access to popular and scholarly literature on topics such as gender, gender studies, women's studies, LGBT studies, sexuality, feminism, role in the workplace, healthcare, and religion.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  Icon
    Full text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage Dates: Varies; earliest begin in 1992 - present.
  • NCJRS  Icon  Icon
    Comprehensive database providing access to scholarly literature (abstracts) in the field of law enforcement, criminal justice, and criminology.

Databases - Also Recommended

  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    Index to journals, books, conference papers and government reports from a wide range of social science disciplines from 1970 to the present.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  Icon
    Comprehensive index to statistical tables found within publications produced by U.S. government agencies and a more selective index to statistical tables from intergovernmental organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
  • ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
    Archive of social science data (demographic, survey, behavioral, housing, etc.). Use of these data usually requires SPSS, SAS, or similar software.
  • PsycINFO
    Psychology and related disciplines are covered with international scope. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records are indexed using the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Use these subject heading for the best results.
  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection  Icon
    Provides access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences from around the world. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available full text.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals: Sociology  Icon
 

Finding Full Text Articles

If you don't see the full text article, click on the "Find It @ HSU" icon:

"Find It" will look for your article in another HSU database, or direct you to the print journal on the 2nd floor of the library.

If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with no additional fee. Electronic articles can often arrive within 1-5 days.

 

Using Citations

Citation searching is a strategy for collecting relevant sources on your topic.

Say you have found an important, scholarly article on your topic. Before she wrote the article, the author went through a research process that was likely very similar to the one you are going through right now. She found a number of good articles on her topic, and then she created a References list. That References list is like a trail of breadcrumbs that you can follow back to more important, scholarly articles on your topic.

Always look at the References list at the end of each article you find, to see if any of the listed sources might be useful!

Google Scholar

From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip