Skip to main content

Integrating Library Resources Into Your Canvas Course

Instructions Out of Date?

We understand that what works one day may not work the next. If the information on this page is outdated and needs edits, please contact the HSU Library.

Linking Directly To An eBook

Step 1: Click on the Plus icon to the right of the title of your module.

 

Step 2: Click on the drop-down menu box on the screen that comes up. Select Add External URL.

 

Step 3: Enter the permalink of the eBook that you want to insert.  Be sure to give the eBook a title in the Page Name field, one that makes it easily identifiable. Ex: eBook: Roadmap to Greener Computing.

 

Step 4: Click on the Add Item green rectangle. Your screen should look like this.

Locating The Permalink

You must locate the permalink of an article or eBook in order to make the link work in Canvas. To locate the permalink, complete the following steps.

Step 1: Click on the article or eBook that you wish to embed into your course.

Step 2: Locate the permalink on the page for the article or eBook. Each database will place the permalink in a different location. You may have to look around to find it. For any title in an Ebsco database, look on the right side of the screen for the Permalink icon. The icon will look like this:

Step 3: If prompted, click on the permalink text or simply copy the permalink using Ctrl+ C.

 

 

eBook resources

Here is a list of some of the eBook resources that the HSU Library offers:

ALCS Humanities eBook: A collection of over 5,000 eBook titles in the humanities

Directory of Open Access Books: These books can are provided to the public free of charge.

ebrary

Ebsco eBook Collection

JSTOR: This database provides access to eBooks in addition to articles and other sources.

Springerlink: This database provides access to eBooks in addition to articles and other sources.