See Finding Articles for major literature databases that index literature in restoration ecolgy. In searching use the suggested "free text" keywords listed under Literature Search Strategy and the "controlled" keywords listed under Books in the Restoration Literature box.
The "Bibliographies" section of other natural resource research guides include restoration bibliographies focused on their specific area of interest. See in particular the fisheries, forestry, rangeland resource science, and wildlife guides. Listed below are more general restoration ecology bibliographies and databases:
- Bibliography of Literature Describing Riparian Restoration/Revegetation Projects, Programs, Techniques and Standards in the Western United States (with emphasis on California) (National Trails Training Partnership. Habitat Restoration Group) 1999
- Center for Invasive Plant Management (CIPM) Restoration Database (Society for Ecological Restoration) Database includes literature and other resources on restoration, particularly relating to invasive species. Search by resource type, source, species or keyword.
- Coastal Wetland Restoration Bibliography (Yozzo and Titre) 1997. Incluces 435 literature citations on coastal wetland restoration in the United States. Sources include scientific journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports from federal and state agencies. The bibliography is organized by the following wetland habitat types: (a) tidal marshes, (b)mangroves, (c) seagrasses, and (d) miscellaneous.
- Ecological Restoration Institute Library (Nothern Arizona University Ecological Restoration Institute) Contains over 700 fulltext resources relating to ecological restoration. The library includes articles involving ecological and sociopolitical research, congressional testimony, newsletters, press releases, slides, videos, working papers, and white papers.
- Global Restoration Network Database (Society for Ecological Restoration International) Includes project case studies, restoration experts and organizations and published literature. Database fields allow searching by ecosystem (biome) type, geographical location and/or source of degradation.
- Introduction and User’s Guide to Wetland Restoration, Creation, and Enhancement (Interagency Workgroup on Wetland Restoration) 2003. Includes an eight page bibliography of reference resources.
- Managing for Enhancement of Riparian and Wetland Areas of the Western United States: An Annotated Bibliography (Koehler and Thomas) 2000 (print copy available in Docs A 13.88: RMRS-54) (USFS General Technical Report RMRS-GTR-54) Includes approximately 2000 references on riparian and wetland management.
- Natural Resource Projects Inventory (UC Davis Information Center for the Environment and California Biodiversity Council) Includes over 8,000 natural resource projects in California on watershed conservation and acquisition; restoration; and noxious weed eradication, assessment, planning, and scientific studies.
- Rangeland Restoration Bibliography (Montana State University) Bibliography covering ecological and management literature on grasslands and rangelands of the western US. The citations are almost exclusively from recognized journals and cover a wide range of topics related to habitat restoration, revegetation, management, disturbance, and general ecology.
- Restoration Bibliography (Wild Fish Habitat Initiative) Emphasis is on fish habitat restoration projects within the intermountain west.
- Riparian Ecosystem Creation and Restoration: a Literature Summary (Manci and Schneller-McDonald) 1989 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Biological Report 89(20)).
- Stream Restoration Databases and Case Studies: a guide to information resources and their utility in advancing the science and practice of restoration (Jenkinson, Barnas, Braatne, Bernhardt, Palmer, Allan and the National River Restoration Synthesis) 2006 Restoration Ecology 14:177–186 (HSU users only)
- Stream Restoration (National Agricultural Library Water Quality Information Center) Dynamic links generate bibiographies on stream restoration from the Agricola database and the National Agricultural Library Catalog.
- Wetland Creation and Restoration: Description and Summary of the Literature (Schneller-McDonald, Ischinger and Auble) 1990 (print copy available in Docs I 49.89/2:90(3)) (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Biological Report 90(3)) Contains 1,100 literature references from the Wetland Creation/Restoration database. Includes plant genus, location, subject and wetland type indexes.
- Wetland Restoration Bibliography (Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center) Includes over 2000 references up through 2004.