Skip to main content

Psychological Tests and Measures

The content of this guide was created by Bob Sathrum, retired 6/2013

Literature Databases

These databases typically index articles that use a particular test in their methodology or focus on evaluating a specific test.

CINAHL - Current Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature [restricted to the HSU community]
Database to nursing research that includes over 250 tests and measurements, some of which include the full-text of the test. Others entries include a table with specifics on the purpose, population sampled, methodology, type of instrument and test source. Options for finding tests in CINHL include:
  1. To see all tests--enter "research instrument" in the first search box and change the pull-down menu to "PT Publication Type".
  2. To find a specific test-- enter a test name.
  3. To find a test on a research topic--repeat #1 above and enter a subject keyword(s) in the second search box that describes the type of test in which you are interested, e.g., "death".

 

Dissertations and Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (restricted to the HSU community]
This database includes the full-text of dissertations and theses. Both published and unpublished tests may be the focus of graduate research or more typically used in the research design. Copies of unpublished tests are often included in the appendices of a dissertation or thesis. Search by test name or use subject keywords along with keywords for "test", e.g., "body image and test".

 

ERIC [restricted to the HSU community]
Includes educational journal articles and educational documents that have used test and measurement instruments. Options for searching in the database include:
  1. Search by test name--enter your test name.
  2. Search for tests by subject -- Select “160 Tests/Questionnaires” from the "Document Type" field of the "Advanced Search" to search for tests and questionnaires. Combine this with a keyword for the concept you want your scale to measure, e.g., self-esteem.
  3. Search for tests by subject -- Enter of one of the ERIC Thesaurus descriptor terms for tests and scales. Combine this with a keyword for the concept you want your scale to measure, e.g., self-esteem.


Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) [restricted to the HSU community]
Indexes published and unpublished behavioral measurement instruments from 1985 to the present. Includes references to 40,000 actual instruments as well as 85,000 research studies in journal articles where they have been used. Instruments are drawn from the fields of health care, psychology, social work, sociology, and communication. For additional information on searching see the HAPI Field Guide. Options for searching include:
  1. Search by test name--enter your test name
  2. Search for tests by subject -- tests are indexed using PsycInfo Thesaurus subjects or MedlineMedical Subjects Headings (MESH).
  3. To limit your results to sources that might contain the full text of a test expand the "Limits" option on the search interface and check the "Primary Source" option.


MEDLINE [restricted to the HSU community]
Includes medical journal articles that have used test and measurement instruments. Options for searching in the database include:
  1. Search by test name--enter your test name.
  2. Search for tests by subject – Use one of the  Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for tests and measures:  "psychological tests," "intelligence tests," "neuropsychological tests," "educational measurement," or "personality tests " etc. Combine this with a keyword for the concept you want your scale to measure, e.g., body image.

 

PsycINFO [restricted to the HSU community]
Indexes 1) tests that are used in psychological research studies; and 2) studies that have evaluated a specific test or group of tests on a specific topic. For a basic introduction on how to search for tests see the online tutorial In Search of Tests and Measures. In the database you can:
  1. Search for studies that used a specific test or measure--enter your test name using the Tests and Measures field; or use More Search Options to browse for your specific test. (note: it is best to omit the scale, inventory, etc. part of a test name, e.g, use just "myers briggs type".)

  2. Search for tests on a specific topic-- enter subject keywords, e.g., "body image" to find studies on a topic. Review the records you find, looking specifically at the Test and Measures field in the drop down menu to see what tests have been used. Repeat #1 and/or #2 above to find additional studies and information about these tests.

  3. Search for copies of tests -- Repeat #1 above, adding the keyword "appended" in the same box, e.g., "male body image appended". (Since 2004 PsycInfo has added the keyword "appended" in this field if a publication includes the actual copy of the test.)

  4. Search for studies that have evaluated a specific test --repeat #1 above in the first row of search boxes and in the second row of search boxes enter "222*", changing the pull-down menu to the Classification field. This will find publications where measurement, test construction, and test validity are major aspects of a study.