Skip to main content

Forestry Research Guide

Introduction

 

 

 

 

Reference materials can often be used effectively as starting points in searching the scientific literature. Following are reference materials of interest to the forest scientist and manager. They are organized by category of reference material rather than subject. Resources marked with a  are key resources or databases.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

These resources provide definitions of discipline-specific terminology and/or general introductions to topics and concepts in forestry. Most encyclopedias include references to important references in the "primary" literature.

  • Collegiate Dictionary of Botany (Swartz) 1971 (ref QK 9 S88 1971)
  • Dictionary of Forestry (Helms) 1998 (ref SD 126 D535) The authoritative dictionary published by the Society of American Foresters containing definitions for 4,500 terms. Supercedes Forest Terminology: A Glossary of Technical Terms used in Forestry (Society of American Foresters) 1958 (ref SD 126 S6 1958) which contains historical terms not found in the newer dictionary.
  • Dictionary of Forestry in Five Languages (Weck & Kirchhoff) 1966 (ref SD 126 W35)
  • Ecological Glossary (Carpenter) 1956 (ref QH 541 C3 1956)
  • Elsevier's Dictionary of Trees and Shrubs: in Latin, English, French, German, Italian (Vaucher) 1986 (ref QK 474.87 V38 1986)
  • Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (Arntzen & Ritter) 1994 (4 volumes) (ref S 411 E713 1994)
  •  Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History (Davis) 1983 (ref SD 143 E53 1983) ( 2 volumes) Scholarly encyclopedia on the "history of forestry, conservation, forest industries, and other forest-related subjects in the United States."
  •  Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences (Burley, Evans and Youngquist) 2004 (ref SD 126 E53 2004) (4 volumes) Contains over 60 articles on recent advances in forest science techniques, the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, as well as relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. A Table of Contents (see link below) is available.
  • Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology (Maloy and Murray) 2001 (ref SB 728 E53 2001)
  • Encyclopedia of Soil Science (Fairbridge & Finkl) 1979 (ref S 592 E52)
  • Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology (Hastings and Gross) 2012 (ref QH 540.4 E526 2012)
  • English-Spanish Glossary of Terminology used in Forestry, Range, Wildlife, Fishery, Soils, and Botany (Medina) 1988 (USFS General Technical Report RM-152) (Docs A 13.88:RM-152)
  • Glossary of Soil Science Terms (Soil Science Society of America) 1970 (ref S 592 S6 1970)
  • Glossary of Terms Used in Range Management (Society for Range Management) 1989 (ref SF 85 G56 1989)
  • Glossary of Terms Used in Timber Harvesting and Forest Engineering (Stokes, Ashmore, Rawlins, & Sirois) 1989 (USFS General Technical Report S0-73) (Docs A 13.88:S0-73)
  • Historical Dictionary of Forestry and Woodland Terms (James) 1991 (SD 179 J349 1991) Compilation of historical terms concerned with woodlands, trees, and forestry. Includes selective quotations from the literature. British in orientation.
  • Logger's Lexicon: an Illustrated Reference for Logging Terms and Technology (Labbe and Caranco) 2001 (SD 126 .L33 2001 Hum Co Coll)
  • Pulp & Paper Dictionary (Lavigne) 1986 (ref TS 1085 L38 1986)
  • Resource Conservation Glossary (Soil Conservation Society of America) 1982 (ref S 922 R47 1982)
  • Terms of the Trade (Random Lengths) 2000 (ref SD 126 T4 2000) Defines words and phrases used in forestry, logging, wood products manufacturing, marketing, and construction.
  • Woods Words: A Comprehensive Dictionary of Loggers Terms (McCulloch) 1958 (ref PE 3727 L8 M3) Emphasizes colloquial terms used in Pacific Northwest logging.

Directories - People

These resources are commonly alphabetical or subject listings of people, organizations, or products. In addition to those listed below many of the Forestry Internet Subject Directories and Portals (see link below) include directories of agencies and organizations.

Directories - Organizations

These resources are commonly alphabetical or subject listings of people, organizations, or products. In addition to those listed below many of the Forestry Internet Subject Directories and Portals (see link below) include directories of agencies and organizations.

  • Directory of the Wood Products Industry (Miller-Freeman) (ref TS 803 D5) Covers the primary and secondary wood products industry in the United States and Canada.
  • Lockwood-Post's Directory of the Pulp and Paper Mills (RISI) Annual (ref TS 1088 L82) Includes on a global scale primary and scondary pulp and paper industries.

Directories - Education

These resources are commonly alphabetical or subject listings of people, organizations, or products. In addition to those listed below many of the Forestry Internet Subject Directories and Portals (see link below) include directories of agencies and organizations.

Directories - Species

These resources are commonly alphabetical or subject listings of people, organizations, or products. In addition to those listed below many of the Forestry Internet Subject Directories and Portals (see link below) include directories of agencies and organizations.

Scientific Reviews

Scientific reviews or "state-of-the-art" reviews critically survey a narrowly defined topic in a discipline. Review papers identify and evaluate research which has appeared in the "primary" literature and typically include extensive bibliographies. Scientific reviews typically appear in annual publications entitled "Annual review of ...", "Advances in ..."; and in journals, especially those which have "review" as part of the title. As part of a scholarly search strategy (see link below(, review papers are an excellent "research tool" to use since they pull together information on the existing state of knowledge of a specific topic.

There are several ways to locate scientific reviews:

  1. Many annual review series have cumulative indexes.
  2. Individual review papers are commonly included in indexes. Create a search using the keyword "review" as part of your search strategy.
  3. The 39 titles in the "Annual Review of ..." (see link below) publication series can be browsed or searched by keyword as far back as 1930.

Annual reviews of interest in forestry include the following. Use the Journal and Newspaper Finder (see link below) for determine location and format.

  • Advances in Agronomy
  • Advances in Ecological Research
  • Advances in Soil Sciences
  • Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics
  • Annual Review of Entomology
  • Annual Review of Phytopathology
  • Annual Review of Plant Physiology
  • Critical Reviews in Plant Science

Bibliographies - Subject

Bibliographies are compiled lists of literature references which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current literature. There are many specialized bibliographies in forestry. In the HSU Library Catalog (see link below), a keyword search can be done using the word "bibliography" and a subject or taxonomic keyword. As part of a search strategy, a bibliography that someone else has produced saves you from having to use other "research tools" to identify literature in a specific topic.

  • Agroforestry Literature: A Selected Bibliography (International Council for Research in Agroforestry) 1988 (S 494.5 A45 L33 1988)

Bibliographies - United States

Bibliographies are compiled lists of literature references which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current literature. There are many specialized bibliographies in forestry. In the HSU Library Catalog (see link below), a keyword search can be done using the word "bibliography" and a subject or taxonomic keyword. As part of a search strategy, a bibliography that someone else has produced saves you from having to use other "research tools" to identify literature in a specific topic.

  • U.S.-Canadian Range Management 1935-1977: A Selected Bibliography on Ranges, Pastures, Wildlife, Livestock, and Ranching (Vallentine) 1978 (ref SD 397 R3 F75)

Bibliographies - Species

Bibliographies are compiled lists of literature references which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current literature. There are many specialized bibliographies in forestry. In the HSU Library Catalog (see link below), a keyword search can be done using the word "bibliography" and a subject or taxonomic keyword. As part of a search strategy, a bibliography that someone else has produced saves you from having to use other "research tools" to identify literature in a specific topic.

  • Annotated Bibliography on the Ecology of Redwood, Sequoia Sempervirens (Jacobs & McBride) 1977 (SD 397 R3 J33) Prepared for the National Park Service.
  • Encyclopedia of World Timbers: Names and Technical Literature (Boutelje) 1980 (ref SD 434 B68) Includes technical literature references to 4,000 timber species. Organized by both scientific name and commercial/local name.

Bibliographies - Government Agencies

Bibliographies are compiled lists of literature references which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current literature. There are many specialized bibliographies in forestry. In the HSU Library Catalog (see link below), a keyword search can be done using the word "bibliography" and a subject or taxonomic keyword. As part of a search strategy, a bibliography that someone else has produced saves you from having to use other "research tools" to identify literature in a specific topic.

See Natural Resources Agency Government Documents and Technical Reports (link below) for general bibliographies to federal and California state agency publications and U.S. Forest Service Publications (link below) for specific bibliographies of USFS publications.

  • Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    • FAO Catalogue (see link below) Includes all documents and publications produced by FAO since 1945. Provides links to fulltext when available. Forestry Index 1945-1966 (ref SD 371 F66) Includes author and title/subject keyword indexes.
    • Forestry Index 1967-1973 (ref SD 371 F66) Includes author and title/subject keyword indexes.
  • Oregon
    • FRL Publications Database (see link below) Lists publications from the Oregon State University Forest Products Laboratory, many of which are available in PDF format

 

Comprehensive Works and Databases

These are more exhaustive works or databases that either contain extensive information or summarize the state of knowledge of broad topics in forestry. These tend to be broader in scope than "scientific reviews" and are well documented with frequent references to important "primary" literature.

  • Diseases of Trees and Shrubs (Sinclair, Lyon, & Johnson) 1987 (SB 762 S56 1987) Comprehensive text covering pathogens of trees and shrubs mainly in temporate North America. Divided into three major groupings - foliage and flowers; twigs, trunks and bark; and roots and - with further subdivisions by fungi, bacteria, virus, nematodes, plant pests, abiotic factors, and unknown agents. Includes many full color plates.
  • Growth and Development of Trees (Kozlowski) 1971 (QK 731 K68) Treatise in two volumes characterizes the growth and developemnt of trees. Volume 1 covers seed germination, ontogeny and shoot growth; Volume 2 covers combined growth, root growth, and reproductive growth.
  • Principles of Wood Science and Technology (Kollman & Cote) 1968-75 (TA 419 K64) Treatise in two volumes. Volume 1 covers the structure of wood, its chemical composition, defects and abnormalities, biological deterioration, wood preservation, and physics of wood. Volume 2 covers wood-based materials.
  • Regional Silviculture of the United States (Barrett) 1995 (SD 143 R47 1995) Provides general descriptions of eleven forest regions in the United States and their silvicultural problems and practices.
  • World Timbers (Rendle) 1969-70 (SD 536 R4) In three volumes contains information on approximately 200 woods of commercial importance. Descriptions of properties and uses are accompanied by illustrations in color showing wood sections.

Species Accounts/Life History Information - California and the Western United States

Species accounts typically include natural history and life history information on individual species. Topics frequently covered include description, taxonomy, distribution, life history, habitat, status, and management considerations.

  • Conifers of California (Lanner) 1999 (ref QK 494 L36 1999) For each species gives information on identification, habitat distribution, and range map. Includes color photographs of each species along with illustration of cones. Appendix includes keys based upon cone or leaf characteristics.
  • Forest Trees of the Pacific Coast; including a brief account of the outstanding characters, distribution and habitats of the trees native of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington and Oregon; most of which are also found in Idaho and northern California and eastward to the western slopes of the Rocky mountains (Eliot) 1948 (QK 482 E5 1948) Contains popularly written accounts of 93 Pacific Coast trees. Each descriptive account includes information on nomenclature; range; habitat; leaves, fruit and wood; and other distinguishing features. Includes illustrations and keys.
  • Natural History of Western Trees (Peattie) 1953 (QK 481 P42) Contains longer popularized accounts of trees native to the western United States. Includes a key to species and genera. Includes some ethnobotanical detail.
  • Oaks of California (Pavlik) 1991 (QK 495 F14 O25 1991) Contains descriptions of the 18 tree and shrub oaks of California along with associated chapters on their ecology, human interactions, preservation, and exploration.

Species Accounts/Life History Information - North America

Species accounts typically include natural history and life history information on individual species. Topics frequently covered include description, taxonomy, distribution, life history, habitat, status, and management considerations.

  • Encyclopedia of North American Trees (Benvie) 2000 (ref QK 110 B46 2000) Contains for 278 native North American trees short annotations in a popular format that describes their natural habitat, growing patterns, physical characteristics, landscape potential and commercial uses. Contains color photographs of each tree. Arranged alphabetically by scientific name. Includes list of arboretums and botanical gardens in the United States and Canada.
  • Forest Cover Types of the United States and Canada (Eyre & Society of American Foresters) 1980 (ref QK 115 F67 1980) Contains descriptions and ecological relationships of 145 forest types. For a subset of major forest cover types see The American Forest Type (About.com Guide to Forestry) (see link below).
  • Harlow & Harrar's Textbook of Dendrology (Hardin, Leopold, & White) 2001 (QK 110 T48 2001) Basic book on the systematics and natural history of 270 important trees in Canada and the United States, with the exclusion of subtropical trees. Includes range maps and illustrations of cones and trees. Includes keys and genera.
  • Hough's Encyclopedia of American Woods (Harrar) 1957- (SD 536 H832 CASE) Sixteen volume set that provides species descriptions for 385 North American trees. Each entry includes information on the tree (habitat, leaves, flowers, fruit, twigs, bark, ornamental value and geographic range), its wood (gross features, microscopy, physical properties, and utilization) and notes of historical interest and its relative commercial importance. Parallel supplemental volumes contain mounted wood specimens that show the transverse, radial, and tangential grain of each species. American Woods (see link below) contains the radial, tangential, and cross-sections of 350 trees from the original 14 volume work published 1888-1910 by Romeyn Beck Hough.
  • Knowing Your Trees (Collingwood & Brush) 1955 (QK 482 C27 1955) Contains popularly written accounts and range maps for 162 tree species. Over 850 black and white photographs show the tree in summer and winter, its leaves, fruit, bark, and flowers.
  • Natural History of Trees of Eastern and Central North America (Peattie) 1950 (QK 481 P4) Contains long popularized accounts of trees native to the eastern and central United States. Includes a key to species and genera. Includes some ethnobotanical detail.
  • Oaks of North America (Miller & Lamb) 1985 (QK 495 F14 M55 1985) Introductory chapters include information on the history and use of oaks followed by species accounts for oaks of the East and oaks of the West. Includes keys for oaks of each area. Species accounts include information on growth habits, range maps, and illustrations.
  • Trees of North America (Mitchell & More) 1987 (QK 115 M5 1987) Popularly written guide to the 750 native and introduced broad-leaved trees and conifers in North America. Organized into groups of related trees with detailed color illustrations of leave shape, flowers, seeds, and bark. Includes range maps of historical natural range and range extension by planting.

Species Accounts/Life History Information - Other Geographic Regions

Species accounts typically include natural history and life history information on individual species. Topics frequently covered include description, taxonomy, distribution, life history, habitat, status, and management considerations.

  • Compendium of Conifer Diseases (Hansen and Lewis) 1997 (SB 608 C7 C6345) In three parts. Part I lists individual conifer diseases, decays, rusts, parasites, cankers and blights of roots, stems, cones, seeds and needles. Each entry includes information on hosts, distribution, symptoms and diagnosis, disease cycle, effects on the forest, disease management and key references. Part II is a series of ten essays on the regional significance of conifer diseases . Part III is a short section on diseases in special settings--forest tree nurseries, Christmas tree plantations and horticultural landscapes.
  • Encyclopedia of Wood: A Tree-by-Tree Guide to the World's Most Versatile Resource (Walker) 1989 (TA 419 E53 1989) Contains general articles on forest production, lumbering and uses of wood; and specific accounts for 280 tree species. Each account includes information on distribution of the trees; a picture showing the wood grain; and wood properties, appearance, and uses.
  • Timber of the New World (Record & Hess) 1943 (ref SD 434 R4) Contains descriptions of over 1,000 species of trees in the Americas with evaluation of their economic importance. Emphasis is on tropical woods.
  • Timbers of the World (Timber Research & Development Association) 1979-1980 (ref SD 434 T47 1979) Three-volume work organized by geographic region. For each region includes separate sections for conifers and hardwoods. For each species gives information on distribution, morphology, and wood characteristics including color, drying, strength, durability, working qualities, and uses.
  • Woods of the World (ForestWorld) 1996 (TA419 .W87 1996 ) CD-ROM contains detailed information on 910 tree species and their products, including common names; common uses; environmental profile; physical, woodworking, and mechanical properties; distribution maps; and color pictures of wood grains. Search the database by name, geographic origin or physical and mechanical properties.

Taxonomic Works: Monographs and Keys

  • Complete Trees of North America: Field Guide and Natural History (Elias) 1980 (ref QK 481 E38) Identification guide to over 750 North American trees with keys to groups, genera, and species. Each species account includes information on distribution, range, and morphology, along with range maps and illustrations.
  • Conifers: Morphology and Variation (Vidakovi'c) 1991 (QK 494 V5313 1991) Monograph on conifers worldwide, with an emphasis on their morphology and variation. Includes keys to genera and species. Horticultural varieties are also listed. Includes some range maps and illustrations.
  • Conifers of California (Lanner) 1999 (ref QK 494 L36 1999) For each species gives information on identification, habitat distribution, and range map. Includes color photographs of each species along with illustration of cones. Appendix includes keys based upon cone or leaf characteristics.
  • Conifers of the World (Eckenwalder) 2009 (QK 494 E34 2009) Presents a current classification scheme for conifers of the world as well as descriptions and identification charateristics of individual species.
  • Guide to Standard Floras of the World: an annotated, geographically arranged systematic bibliography of the principle floras, enumerations, checklists, and chorological atlases of different areas (Frodin) 1984 (ref QK 45.2 F76)
  • Illustrated Manual of California Shrubs (McMinn) 1939 (QK 484 C2 M24) Scholarly work on the shrubs of California with taxonomic keys and descriptive accounts for each species. Includes selective photos and illustrations.
  • Illustrated Manual of Pacific Coast Trees (McMinn, Maino, & Shepherd) 1937 (print copy available in QK 482 M25 1937) Older scholarly guide to the native and introduced trees along the Pacific coast from California to British Columbia. Includes keys to genera and species with accompanying short species accounts.
  • Manual of Cultivated Broad-leaved Trees & Shrubs (3 volumes) (Krussmann) 1984-86 (ref SB 435 K7413 1984) Contains taxonomic descriptions and selective illustrations of cultivated broad-leved trees and their horticultural varieties. Arranged alphabetically by genus with keys to individual species.
  • Manual of Cultivated Conifers (Krussmann) 1985 (QK 494.5 C75 K7813 1985) Contains taxonomic descriptions and selective illustrations of cultivated conifers and their horticultural varieties arranged alphabetically by genus.
  • North American Trees (Preston) 2002 (QK 110 P74 2002) Identification guide to over 550 native, naturalized, or commonly planted exotic species. Includes key to identify genera and species. Concise descriptions of botanical and silvical characteristics are included for each species. Includes distribution maps and illustrations.
  • Taxonomy and Ecology of Woody Plants in North American (Excluding Mexico and Subtropical Florida) (Fralish and Franklin) 2002 (QK 115 F73 2002) In four parts-- taxonomic concepts and methodology, gymnosperms, woody angiosperms, and forest community ecology. Parts 2 and 3 contain detailed descriptions of 800 species of trees, shrubs, and vines. Selected B/W illustrations.
  • Trees and Shrubs of California (Stuart & Sawyer) 2001 (California Natural History Guides 62) (ref QK 149 S73 2001) Manual for the identification of California trees and shrubs. Includes separate keys to conifers and broad-leaved trees and shrubs. Species descriptions include information on morphology, habitat and range, other remarks, range maps, and illustrations. Appendices include genera grouped by distinctive morphological features and a checklist of trees and shrubs.

Taxonomic Works: Checklists

  • California List of Scientific and Common Plant Names (DeCarmo) 1980 (ref QK 149 D44)
  • World Checklist and Bibliography of Conifers (Farjon) 2001 (QK 494 F37 2001) Checklist of families, genera and infraspecific taxa, with synonymy, indication of distribution, ecology and conservation status. Bibliographic references included focus on taxonomy.

Taxonomic Works: Field Guides

  • Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Trees, Vol. 1 Eastern Region, Vol. 2 Western Region (Little) 1980 (QK 481 L49 1980) The Eastern volume includes over 350 species, the Western volume over 500 species. Organized by the shape of the leaf or needle, by the fruit, by the flower or cone, or by autumn coloration.
  • Field Guide to Western Trees (Petrides) 1992 (Peterson Field Guide Series #44) (ref QK 133 P48 1992) Includes nearly 400 native and naturalized trees in western North America. Color illustrations.
  • Sibley Guide to Trees (Sibley) 2009 (QK 475 S53 2009) Guide to the identification of 668 native and commonly cultivated trees found in the temperate areas of North America north of Mexico. Grouped by similiar trees with color drawings to make further distinctions.
  • Trees of North America and Europe (Phillips) 1978 (QK 477.2 I4 P45 1978) A colored photographic guide to more than 500 coniferous and broad-leaved trees. Contains separate leaf indexes for conifers, simple broad-leaved trees, and compound broad-leaved trees. Each species entry includes a short annotation and additional illustrations of the cones and flowers.

Handbooks and Manuals

Handbooks commonly contain data and descriptive information compiled from the "primary" literature and organized into tables or articles. Many basic and factual questions in the discipline can be answered from handbooks. Manuals usually contain procedures for experimental analysis in the field or laboratory.

  • 1995 Forestry Handbook (New Zealand Institute of Foresters) 1995 (SD 244.2 N49 1995)
  • Aimes and Methods of Vegetation Ecology (Mueller-Dombois & Ellenburg) 1974 (QK 901 M8)
  • Atlas of Insects Harmful to Forest Trees (Novak, Hrozinka, & Stary) 1976 (SB 931 N6) Contains information on approximately 100 insects. Emphasis is on European insects.
  • California Forestry Handbook (Arvola) 1978 (ref SD 144 C2 A74)
  • Crop Protection Manual (American Crop Protection Association) Annual (ref SB 950.9 C76) Indexes by broad name, crop use, pest use, and mode of action.
  • Field and Laboratory Guide to Tree Pathology (Blanchard & Tattar) 1997 (SB 761 B614 1997)
  • Forest Mensuration Handbook (Hamilton) 1975 (Forestry Commission Booklet #39) (SD 45 A412 #39) British in scope, but general concepts are of general interest.
  • Forest Nursery Manual (Duryea & Landis) 1984 (SD 404.25 F67 1984)
  • Forest Sampling Desk Reference (Johnson) 2000 (SD 387 S73 J65 2000)
  •  Forestry Handbook (Wenger) 1984 (ref SD 373 F58 1984) Provides reference data and methods on all aspects of forestry, primarily for the working field forester. Prepared under the aspices of the Society of American Foresters.
  • Forestry Handbook for British Columbia (Watts) 1983 (SD 371 B7)
  • Handbook for Forest and Ranch Roads: A guide for planning, designing, constructing, reconstructing, maintaining, and closing wildlife roads (Weaver & Hagans) 1994 (TE 229.5 W43 1994)
  • Handbook for Forest Roads (Washington Department of Natural Resources) 1982 (SD 389 H34 1982)
  • Handbook of Reference Methods for Plant Analysis (Kalra) 1998 (QK 865 H26 1998)
  • Herbicide Handbook (Weed Science Society of America) 1994 (ref SB 951.4 H43)
  • Introduction to Vegetation Analysis: Principles, Practice, and Interpretation (Causton) 1988 (QK 901 C33 1988)
  • Log Scaling and Timber Cruising (Bell & Dilworth) 1993 (SD 551 D5 1997)
  • Logging Practices: Principles of Timber Harvesting Systems (Conway) 1982 (SD 538 C713 1982)
  • Manual of Forest Mensuration (Beers & Miller) 1973 (SD 555 B44 1973)
  • Measurements for Terrestrial Vegetation (Bonham) 1989 (QK 911 B57 1989)
  • Measuring Trees and Forests (Philip) 1994 (SD 551 P494 1994) Textbook covering the theory and practice of forest mensuration that presents measurement techniques and methods of data analysis.
  • Methods in Ecological and Agricultural Entomology (Dent & Walton) 1997 (SB 933.3 M47 1997)
  • Monitoring Plant and Animal Populations (Elzinga, Salzer, Willoughby and Gibbs) 2001 (QH 541.15 M64 M72 2001)
  • Participatory Techniques for Community Forestry (Jackson & Ingles) 1998 (SD 431 J33 1998)
  • Redwood Forest Handbook (Reveal & Wallen) 1948 (SD 373 R45 Humboldt County Collection) Older handbook prepared by California Division of Forestry on redwood logging.
  • Reforestation Practices in Southwestern Oregon and Northern California (Hobbs) 1992 (SD 409 R39 1992) Synthesis of research information for successful reforestation in the mixed conifer and mixed evergreen forests of southwest Oregon and northern California. Chapters describe reforestation problems; physical, biological, and ecological principles for reforestation practices in the region; regeneration methods; and post-planting operations.
  • Root Methods: A Handbook (Smit) 2000 (QK 644 R656 2000)
  • Service Forester's Handbook (USFS Southern Region) 1986 (Miscellaneous Report R8-MR11) (Docs A 13.110/11:R8-MR11) Practical handbook for many forestry calculations and operations. Applications are not limited to the southern United States and can be used nationwide.
  • Sustainable Forestry Handbook: A Practical Guide for Tropical Forest Managers on Implementing New Standards (Higman) 1999 (SD 387 S87 S878 1999)
  • Techniques for Wildlife Habitat Management of Uplands (Payne and Bryant) 1994 (SK 355 P39 1994) Compilation of techniques for natural and cultural habitat improvements to enhance wildlife biodiversity on forestlands, rangelands and farmlands.
  • Urban Watershed Forestry Manual (Cappiella and Others) 2005-2006 Part 1: Methods for Increasing Forest Cover in a WatershedPart 2: Conserving and Planting Trees at Development Sites; and Part 3: Urban Tree Planting Guide (see links below).
  • Vegetation Description and Analysis: A Practical Approach (Kent & Coker) 1992 (QK 901 K37 1992)
  • Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook (Westcott and Horst) 1990 (Ref SB 731 W47 1990) In two main sections--the plant section lists for each included plant the diseases to which the plant is susceptible, the scientific names of disease-causing organisms and states where each disease has been reported; and the plant disease section includes for each genus a general classification, diagnostic characteristics, common names, typical symptoms, and control measures.

Laws and Regulations - General

For a guide to general legal resources in the HSU Library see Legal Reference Resources and Finding Tools and Environmental/Natural Resources Law (links below)

Laws and Regulations - Federal

  • For Federal statutory, case and administrative law in the HSU Library see the Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal & California research guide (link below).
  • "Logs and Logging" and "Woods and Forests" in Corpus Juris Secundum (KF 154 C6) Articles in an authoritative encyclopedia restating US law as derived from statutory and case law.

Laws and Regulations - California

  • For California statutory, case and administrative law in the HSU Library see Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal & California (link below)

Laws and Regulations - Other States

Laws and Regulations - International

Geospatial Resources: Atlases, Maps, GIS, Imagery - International

For a more general guide to print and digital geospatial resources available in the HSU Library or on the Internet see Geospatial Resources (link below)

  • Weltforstatlas - World Forestry Atlas (Bundesforschungsanstalt fur Forst und Holzwirtschaft) 1951-1973 (atlas G 1046 K1 R4 1951) Large format atlas containing 64 global, regional, or country maps that show forest and tree species distribution, vegetation types, and other themes relating to timber production, manufacture, and trade.

Geospatial Resources: Atlases, Maps, GIS, Imagery - North America

For a more general guide to print and digital geospatial resources available in the HSU Library or on the Internet see Geospatial Resources (link below)

  • Atlas of U.S. Trees (Little) (USDA Miscellaneous Publications #1146, 1293, 1314, 1342, 1361, 1410) (Docs A 1.38: 1146, 1293, 1314, 1342, 1361, 1410) - Six-volume work containing 800 maps showing the natural distribution of native tree species in North America. Digital Representations of Tree Species Range Maps from the "Atlas of United States Trees" (see link below) contains the same maps in pdf and ArcView shapefile format.
  • National Hierarchical Framework of Ecological Units (ECOMAP) (USFS Ecosystem Classification and Mapping Task Team) System developed by the U.S. Forest Service, Natural Resources Conservation Service and the Nature Conservancy for classifying, mapping and describing ecological units in the United States at progressively smaller units (domain, division, province, section, subsection) for geographic planning and analysis purposes. The five ecological subdivisions are classified and mapped based upon associations of biotic and environmental factors (climate, physiography, water, soils, air, hydrology, and potential natural communities) that regulate the structure and function of the ecosystem.
  • (1)Ecological Units of California: Subsections (Goudey & Smith) 1994/7 (Ref QH105.C2 E26 1997) Map of the "sections" and "subsections" in California.

 

Geospatial Resources: Atlases, Maps, GIS, Imagery - California

For a more general guide to print and digital geospatial resources available in the HSU Library or on the Internet see Geospatial Resources (link below)

Graphics and Images

  • Conifers: the Illustrated Encyclopedia (Gelderon & van Hoey Smith) 1996 (SB 428 G45 1996) Contains 2,347 color photos of conifers representing genera that illustrate their mature height and form. Includes many cultivars. Includes notes on growth habits of each genera.
  • Conifers of California (Lanner) 1999 (ref QK 494 L36 1999) For each species in California includes a color photograph and a color botanical illustration of cones or analogous seed-bearing organ.
  • Trees of North America and Europe (Phillips) 1978 (QK 477.2 I4 P45 1978) A colored photographic guide to more than 500 coniferous and broad-leaved trees. Contains separate leaf indexes for conifers, simple broad-leaved trees, and compound broad-leaved trees. Each species entry includes a short annotation and additional illustrations of the cones and flowers.

Environmental Reviews, Assessments, & Plans - Global

Environmental reviews typicaly contain an analysis of environmental issues with accompanying statistical data. Following are those of direct interest to forestry. For more encompassing reviews see the Environmental Reviews (see link below) listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide.

Environmental Reviews, Assessments, & Plans - United States and Canada

Environmental reviews typicaly contain an analysis of environmental issues with accompanying statistical data. Following are those of direct interest to forestry. For more encompassing reviews see the Environmental Reviews (see link below) listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide.

Environmental Reviews, Assessments, & Plans - U.S. Forest Service

Environmental reviews typicaly contain an analysis of environmental issues with accompanying statistical data. Following are those of direct interest to forestry. For more encompassing reviews see the Environmental Reviews (see link below) listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide.

Environmental Reviews, Assessments, & Plans - California

Environmental reviews typicaly contain an analysis of environmental issues with accompanying statistical data. Following are those of direct interest to forestry. For more encompassing reviews see the Environmental Reviews (see link below) listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide.

Statistical and Data Compilations - International

Statistical and Data Compilations - United States and Canada

  • Random Lengths Yearbook: Forest Product Market Prices and Statistics (Random Lengths) Annual (ref HD 9750.4 R35) Summarizes monthly and annual price averages for more than 250 wood products.
  • Statistical Yearbook of the Western Lumber Industry (Western Wood Products Association) Annual (ref HD 9757 A4 W46)

Statistical and Data Compilations - U.S. Forest Service

  • Production Prices, Employment, and Trade in Northwest Forest Industries (Pacific Northwest Research Station) 1966 to the present (Docs A 13.66/13) Recent issues available at Pacific Northwest Research Station Publications and Products (see link below) as part of the Resource Bulletin series. Quarterly publication that provides time-series statistics on lumber and plywood production and prices; employment in the forest industries; international trade in logs, lumber, and plywood; volume and average prices of stumpage sold by public agencies; and other related statistics.

Literature Guides

These resources discuss the organization of research literature and list reference materials in forestry. In a sense this research guide fits this category. Listed below are more formal ones. For guides to forestry literature on the Internet see Forestry Internet Subject Directories and Portals (see link below).

  • Forestry and Forest Products (Johnson) IN Guide to Sources for Agricultural and Ecological Research(Blanchard & Farrell) 1981 (ref S 493 G85) Lists reference materials in forestry. Updated by Reference Collection Update (McDonald) IN Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry.
  • Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry (McDonald & Lossoie) 1996 (SD 387 D6 L58 1996)