For Humboldt Bay and other estuarine maps see Northwestern California Maps--Humboldt Bay and Other Estuarine Maps
Bibliographies and Guides
- AMIC Library Bibliography (Arcata Marsh Interpretive Center) 1999 (QH 105 C2 A55 1999) Bibliography of reports, articles and other publications available at the AMIC Library that concern various aspects of the Arcata Marsh. Organized by broad topic.
- Guided Bibliography of Coastal Salt Marsh Literature with Special Reference to the Pacific Northwest Region (Southern British Columbia to San Francisco Bay) (Morgan) 1980 (QH 541.5 S24 G85) Includes chapter on "Coastal Salt Marshes of Northern California".
- Humboldt Bay and Eel River Delta Monitoring Projects Select projects by category, e.g., fishery resources, water quality.
- Humboldt Bay, California: A Literature Survey (University of Washington. Department of Oceanography) 1955 (print copy available in GC 856 W35 Hum Co Coll) Literature survey with accompanying bibliography prepared for the U.S. Navy Hydrographic Office. The bibliography portion is updated through 1969 by A Partial Bibliography on Humboldt Bay (GC 856 P37 Hum Co Coll).
- Humboldt Bay, California, Entrance Channel. Report 1: Data Review (Costa and Glatzel) 2002 (print copy available in TC 225 H8 C67 2002 Hum Co Coll). Provides an inventory and review of historical and recent data describing Humboldt Bay and the adjacent littoral cell. The data review focuses on physical oceanography (tides, wind, waves, currents, hydrographic structure, bathymetry), coastal processes, tidal inlet and beach dynamics, sand supply and budgets, structural modifications controlling the inlet entrance configuration, and dredging of the navigation channel. Data is presented in four parts--aerial photographs; maps and charts; studies and reports; and contact information for data sources. The review was prepared for the US Army Corps of Engineers Coastal Inlets Research Program (CIRP) study of the Humboldt Bay entrance.
- Humboldt Bay Data Synthesis (Pacific Watershed Associates) 2011 Comprehensive database in Excel format that lists ecological, geophysical, cultural and socio-economic datasets for Humboldt Bay that was prepared for the Humboldt Bay Initiative. This database containg 200 datasets was developed for use in climate change adaptation planning and implementation. A background report is available.
- Humboldt Bay Spatial Data Inventory (PhotoScience Geospatial Solutions) 2007. Inventory of 116 GIS datasets and 12 non-GIS datasets relating to Humboldt Bay that was prepared for NOAA’s Coastal Services Center Benthic Habitat Data Inventory and Collection, Humboldt Bay, California project. Also available as an Excel spreadsheet. A separate background report is available.
- KrisWeb: Humboldt Bay (Klamath Resource Information System) Includes links to full text.
- Arcata Marsh Primer II (Hull) 1984 (QH 105 C2 H86 Hum Co Coll)
- Arcata's Wastewater Treatment Plant and Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary (Humboldt State University Department of Environmental Resources Engineering) Includes sections on marsh specifications (demography), history, plants, wildlife, aquaculture and recreation. Also includes list of references relating to the marsh
- CeNCOOS at Humboldt State University (Central and Northern California Ocean Observing System) Includes news, maps, reports and water quality and temperature data for Humboldt Bay.
- Ecology of Eelgrass Meadows in the Pacific Northwest: a Community Profile (Phillips) 1984
- Ecology of Estuarine Channels of the Pacific Northwest Coast: a Community Profile(Simenstad) 1983 (print copy available in Doc I 49.89: 83/05)
- Ecology of Humboldt Bay: an Estuarine Profile (Barnhart, Boyd, & Pequegnat) 1992 (FWS Biological Report 1) (print copy available in QH 541 C2 B3 1992 Hum Co Coll) Synthesis of current and historical information on the geographic setting of Humboldt Bay; the geological, climatological, hydrological and physiochemical aspects of the bay environment; its biological communities and their relationships; and present and future management considerations.
- Ecology of the Tidal Marshes of the Pacific Northwest Coast: a Community Profile (Seliskar) 1983 (print copy available in Doc I 49.89: 82/32)
- Guide to the Fishes of Humboldt Bay (Fritzsche and Cavanagh) 1995 (print copy available in QL 628 C2 F758 1995)Provides a brief description of the fishes that have been recorded from Humboldt Bay and is intended to be an identification guide to those fishes. The fishes are presented in phylogenetic order. Scientific and common names are given for each species along with diagnostic characteristics, life history notes, distribution within the bay, geographic range, approximate maximum size, and color photograph if available.
- Humboldt Bay and Eel River Estuary Benthic Habitat Project (Schlosser and Eicher) 2012 Report includes habitat descriptions and classification of intertidal and subtidal habitats of Humboldt Bay and the EelRiver Estuary.
- Humboldt Bay Historic and Cultural Resource Characterization and Roundtable (Planwest Partners and the Center for Indian Community Development, Humboldt State University) 2008 (print copy available in F 868 H8 H786 2008 Hum Co Collection) Historic and cultural resources characterization of Humboldt Bay.
- Humboldt Bay Management Plan (Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District) 2007 (print copy available in F 868 H8 K635 2007 Hum Co Coll) Includes sections on state of the bay, policy documents, species lists, and maps.
- Humboldt Bay and Watershed Symposium February 8-9, 2002 (Humboldt Bay and Watershed Steering Committee) 2002 (F868 H8 S9 2002a Hum Co Coll) Fourth in a series.
- Humboldt Bay Watershed Salmon and Steelhead Conservation Plan (Humboldt Bay Watershed Advisory
Committee) 2005 (print copy available in SH348 H86 2005 Hum Co Coll) Inlcudes a compilation and evaluation of
watershed information; and a list of goals for protecting and/or restoring watershed processes in order to preserve and enhance salmon and steelhead habitat.
- Humboldt Bay Wetlands Review & Baylands Analysis (Shapiro & Associates) 1980 (F 868 H8 S532 1980 Hum Co Coll) Report prepared for the US Army Corps of Engineers that reviews and maps the physical, biological, land use and cultural resources of Humboldt Bay and its environs.
- Vol. 1 contains a summary and the report and lists areas identified as being of importance or of environmental concern.
- Vol. 2 contains the main review and supporting maps.
- Vol. 3 and accompanying 25 sheet map set at a scale of 1:6000 (map set filed in Humbold Room map case) classify land use into 17 general classes and wetlands into 20 classes that can be equated to the National Wetlands Inventory classification system.
- Natural Resources of the Coastal Wetlands of Humboldt and Del Norte Counties: Mattole River, Bear River, Mad River, Little River, Big Lagoon, Stone Lagoon, Freshwater Lagoon, Redwood Creek, Klamath River, Miscellaneous Wetlands (Monroe) 1976 (print copy available in HC 107 C22 H862)
- Natural Resources of the Eel River Delta (Monroe & Reynolds) 1974 (California Department of Fish and Game Coastal Wetlands Series #9) (QH 541.5 M3 M66 Hum Co Coll) Older report covering all aspects of the Eel River delta environment and resource use.
- Natural Resources of Humboldt Bay (Monroe) 1973 (California Department of Fish and Game Coastal Wetland Series #6) (HC 107 C2 M66 Hum Co Coll) Older report covering all aspects of the Humboldt Bay environment and resource use.
- Natural Resources of Lake Earl and the Smith River Delta (Monroe) 1975 (California Department of Fish and Game Coastal Wetlands Series #10) (print copy available in QH 541.5 M3 C25 Hum Co Coll) Older report covering all aspects of the environment and resource use.
- Non-Indigenous Marine Species of Humboldt Bay, California (Boyd, Mulligan and Shaughnessey) 2002
- Physical Oceanography of Humboldt Bay (Costa) 1982. Originally appeared in Proceedings of the Humboldt Bay Symposium.
- "Plant and Animal Communities of Pacific North America Salt Marshes", pp 167-192, IN Wet Coastal Ecosystems (Chapman) 1977 (QH541.5 S24 W47)
- Proceedings of the Humboldt Bay Symposium (Toole & Diebel) 1982 (F 868 H8 P76 1982 Hum Co Coll and stacks) Contains series of papers outlining the physical, biological, and cultural resources of Humboldt Bay.
- Proceedings of the Symposium: Current Perspectives on the Physical and Biological Processes of Humboldt Bay, March 15, 2004, Eureka, California (Schlosser and Rasmussen) 2007.
- Teacher's Guide to the Arcata Marsh & Wildlife Sanctuary (Dresner) 1985 (QH 105 C2 T43 Hum Co Coll) Good overview of its natural history, history, and development.