Skip to main content

Northwestern California/Klamath Bioregion Environment Information Sources

The content of this guide was created by Bob Sathrum, retired 6/2013

Klamath/Trinity Rivers

For a brief timeline of major developments in the Klamath Basin see Klamath River Legal.

  • Guides and Bibliographies
  • Agencies and Organizations
  • General Introductions
    • Balancing Water: Restoring the Klamath Basin (Blake and Kittredge) 2000 (GB991 K63 B63 2000) Environmental case study in words and pictures of the complex relationship between the human and natural history in the Klamath Basin as it relates to watershed development.
    • Endangered and Threatened Fishes in the Klamath River Basin: Causes of Decline and Strategies for Recovery(Committee on Endangered and Threatened Fishes in the Klamath River Basin, National Research Council) 2004 (print copy available in QL617.73 U6 E53 2004) Provides basic information on the fishes, ecology, land use and water management of the Klamath River watershed as part of a report that addresses the scientific aspects related to the continuing survival of coho salmon and shortnose and Lost River suckers.
    • Hydrology, Ecology, and Fishes of the Klamath River Basin (Committee on Hydrology, Ecology, and Fishes of the Klamath River, National Research Council) 2008 (print copy available in QL617.73 U6 H93 2008) Provides a basic overview of the hydrology and fishes of the Klamath river as part of an assessement of two studies that evaluate water flow in the Klamath basin: (1) the Instream Flow Phase II study (IFS), conducted by Utah State University, and (2) the Natural Flow of the Upper Klamath Basin study (NFS), conducted by the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (USBR).
    • Klamath Project, California and Oregon (US Bureau of Reclamation) Provides historical, statistical and technical information on the Klamath Project.
    • Klamath Resource Information System (KRIS): Klamath/Trinity  (Institute for Fisheries Resources) 2001 (SH 35 C3 H54 2001--copies in main collection and Humboldt Room) Contain numeric data, tables, charts, thematic discussions, photographs, and fulltext documents related to fisheries and water quality which are designed for use in watershed analysis, management and interpretation. Emphasis is on historical information about fishery populations as well as current status and trends in water quality in the watershed. Available in three formats:
      • Kris DB cd-rom - a stand-alone cd-rom that uses a customized Windows-based program to access information on the watershed.
      • KrisWeb - contains much of the content that is found on each KRIS DB cd-rom. There is a searchable index to the content of the KRIS webpages and a KRIS Bibliography that contains the fulltext of relevant documents.
      • KRIS Map - a companion cd-rom for each watershed that contains GIS data layers that can be used with ArcView or the free ArcExplorer software. KRIS DB cd-roms contain some graphics produced from the GIS data.
    • "Klamath River" IN Rivers of North America (Benke and Cushing) 2005, pp 263-267 (ref QH 102 R58 2005) Short introduction with literature references to the ethnographic, physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of the Klamath River and to the impacts caused by humans (dam building, water diversions, and pollution).
    • "The Klamath River Basin: A Microcosm of Water in the West" (McClurg) Western Water, May/June 2000, pp 4-17. (TD201 W4 Hum Co Coll)
    • Klamath River Basin Issues and Activities: An Overview (US Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service) 2005
    • Layperson's Guide to the Klamath River (Water Education Foundation) 2011 (F868 K55 D69 2011 Hum Co Coll) Brief guide about the many water issues/users in the Klamath River Basin such as endangered fish, farming and ranching, wildlife refuges and hydropower production. The guide explains the intricacies of two agreements reached in early 2010 – and summarizes what happens next as consideration is given to removal of the four hydroelectric dams on the river; dividing the water in the Upper Klamath Basin among farmers, wildlife refuges and environmental uses; and the federal government’s salmon habitat restoration plan.
    • Nature and History in the Klamath Basin (Most and Oregon Historical Society) Prepared for the Oregon History Project this is an introduction to conflicts and accomplishments surrounding the use of land and waters during the last two centuries in the Upper Klamath Basin.
    • Refuges and Reclamation: Conflicts in the Klamath Basin, 1904-1964 (Foster) Oregon Historical Quarterly 103(2):150-187, 2002
    • A River Never the Same: a History of Water in the Klamath Basin (Shaw Historical Library) 1999 (F 868 K55 R58 1999) Collection of papers that gives a comprehensive historical overview of water use in the upper Klamath River watershed.
    • River of Renewal: Myth and History in the Klamath Basin (Most) 2006 (F868 K55 M67 2006) Tells the story of the crisis in the Klamath Basin where competing demands for water, food, and energy have pitted farmers, American Indians, and commercial fishermen against each other. See also the related video River of Renewal (Video 7186 and 7436)
    • Shasta/Trinity River Division Project (US Bureau of Reclamation) Provides historical, statistical and technical information on the Shasta Trinity Project.
    • Watercolors: the Challenges of the Klamath Watershed (Water Education Foundation) 2000 (video 4215) Videorecording examines the many conflicting water interests in the Klamath Basin, focusing on the issues of endangered fish, wetlands and wildlife refuges, water quality, water supply, and water rights.
    • Water War in the Klamath Basin: Macho Law, Combat Biology, and Dirty Politics (Doremus and Tarlock) 2008 (ebook limited to HSU users; print copy available in F868 K55 D67 2008 Hum Co Coll) Examine the origins of the summer 2001 crisis in the Upper Klamath Basin and presents a comprehensive review of the event, the history leading up to it, and the lessons it holds regarding the broader problem of conflicts over water use in the arid West. It describes the "...assumptions underlying federal and state natural-resource policies and explains how legal contradictions, changing cultural values, and evolving scientific understanding combined to make the clash in the Klamath Basin both inevitable and intractable."
  • Literature and Data Compilations
    • Clearinghouse for Dam Removal Information (CDRI) (Water Resources Collections and Archives) Includes documents related on dam removal on the Klamath River.
    • FERC Online eLibrary (US Federal Energy Regulary Commission) Search for Docket # P-2082 for all documents related to relicensing of PacifiCorp's Klamath Hydroelectric Project.
    • Klamath Restoration.gov Official website containing all documents of the Department of the Interior, and other federal and state agencies that are involved in carrying out obligations set forth in the Klamath Hydroelectric Settlement Agreement.
    • Klamath-Salmon Natural History Library (Salmon River Restoration Council) Includes collection of digital documents relating to culture, dams, fire and fisheries.
    • Klamath/Trinity Program Biological Information Documents (California Department of Fish and Wildlife)
    • Klamath Waters Digital Library (Oregon Institute of Technology and Shaw Historical Libraries) Digital archive containing documents, reports, maps and images on the historical, legal, scientific, economic and social aspects of water use in the Klamath River Basin. Current emphasis is on the upper Klamath Basin.
    • Klamath Watershed Institute Digital Library (Humboldt State University) Uses a map interface to locate socioeconomic, hydrologic, water quality, and meteorologic information on the Klamath Basin. Resouces contained in the digital archive include photos, drawings, maps, research and technical reports, sound recordings, and videos.
    • Southern Oregon Digital Archives: Bioregion Collection (Southern Oregon University Library) Collection containing over 400 online fulltext documents from federal and state agencies that relate to the Southern Oregon Klamath-Siskiyou Bioregion. Search by author, title, agency, subject or keyword.
    • Trinity River Restoration Program Online Data Portal Repository of documents, meetings and data for the Trinity River watershed.