California Rivers Assessment: Humboldt County , Del Norte County, Siskiyou County, Trinity County,Mendocino County (International Center for the Environment) For every California watershed contains information that can be used in resource planning and decision making. Each watershed includes basic environmental facts; an interactive mapper with 30 available data layers; a set of static, predefined maps; and links to other sources of Internet information. Search by watershed basin or county. The above county links list watersheds found within the county as well as some basic information about the county..
Ecological Characterization of the Central & Northern California Coastal Region (Jones & Stokes Associates) 1981 (FWS/OBS-80/46.2) (print copy available in QH 105 C2 E36 1981 Hum Co Coll) Five volume work in eight parts. Prepared for the US Fish and Wildlife Service and the Bureau of Land Management as a compilation and synthesis of existing information that can be used to evaluate potential ecological consequences of urban, industrial and commercial development in the area. The bibliography is intended to be a guide to additional environmental information. The five volumes cover: Ecological Subregions of California: Section and Subsection Descriptions: Northern California Coast,Klamath Mountains, Northern California Coast Ranges (US Forest Service) 1997 (print copy available in Ref QH 105 C2 E26 1997--includes accompanying map) Contains general descriptions of the environmental characteristics--geomorphology, lithology and stratigraphy, soil taxa, vegetation, fauna, elevation, precipitation, temperature, growing season, disturbance regimes, surface water characteristics, land use and cultural ecology--for all sections and subsection ecological units in California. Section and subsection descriptions are also available in the Encyclopedia of Earth. Search by section or subsection name. Sections and subsections are based on the National Hierarchical Framework of Ecological Unitsclassification system developed by the US Forest Service. Includes all three northwestern California sections and each of their subsections.
Humboldt County Natural Resources and Hazards Report (Humboldt County Planning Department) Prepared as a backgound document for the county General Plan update. The report provides an assessment of current conditions related to water (surface, ground, and pollution) and watersheds; biological resources (vegetation, fisheries, and special status species); forest lands (including Timberland Production Zones); agricultural production (including soils and economic structure); parks, recreation, and open space; cultural resources (historical and archaeological sites and landmarks); mineral and energy (sand and gravel, rock, metal, and oil and gas); scenic qualities; and air quality (climate and pollutants). Potential hazards evaluated in this report are geotechnical, soil, and seismic; flooding; fire and toxics; and noise. The report includes a large collection of supporting maps and figures.
Klamath Knot: Explorations of Myth and Evolution (Wallace) 2003 (QH105 C2 W344 2003) Award winning personal vision of wilderness in the Klamath Mountains of northwest California and southwest Oregon, seen through the lens of "evolutionary mythology."
Klamath-Siskiyou Forests and Northern California Coastal Forests (Conservation Biology Institute) Part of the Pacific Northwest Conservation Assessment that characterizes 40 major ecoregions in the Pacific Northwest and northern California. Each ecoregion includes sections on ecological setting, landscape description and history, conservation status, conservation at the political level, conservation research and planning, conservation biology issues, conservation opportunities and constraints, citations, and list of scientific names.
Klamath-Siskiyou Forests (NA0516) and Northern California Coastal Forests (NA0519) (National Geographic Society and World Wildlife Fund) For each of these ecoregions contains a general description and links to a more extensive conservation assessment that also appears in Terrestrial Ecoregions of North America: a Conservation Assessement (Ricketts) 1999 (print copy available in Ref QH 77 N56 T47 1999)
Klamath-Siskiyou Region (Natural Areas Journal, Vol 19, October 1999) 1999 (QH 76.5 O7 K55 1999 Humboldt County Collection) Papers in this theme-based issue provide an overview to the region as well as address specific topics relating its natural history, biodiversity and conservation.
Klamath Resource Information System (KRIS) (Institute for Fisheries Resources) Collection of information databases compiled for individual watersheds in northwestern California that contain numeric data, tables, charts, thematic discussions, photographs, and fulltext documents related to fisheries and water quality. They are designed for use in watershed analysis, management and interpretation. Emphasis is on historical information about fishery populations as well as current status and trends in water quality in the watershed. Each watershed-based database is available in three formats:
Northcoast watersheds completed to date include:
Klamath/Trinity Rivers (KRIS Klamath Trinity) (SH 35 C3 H54 2001--copies in main collection and Humboldt Room)
Pacific Lumber Company watersheds (KRIS Coho) (SH 35 C3 K753 1998--copy available in Humboldt Room)
Noyo River (KRIS Noyo) (SH 35 C3 K756 2000--copy available in Humboldt Room)
Ten Mile River
Land Resource Regions and Major Land Resource Areas of the United States, the Caribbean, and the Pacific Basin (US Soil Conservation Service) 1981 (Agriculture Handbook 296) (print copy available in Docs A 1.76:296) See descriptions for the "California Coastal Redwood Belt" and the "Siskiyou-Trinity Area". For each resource area gives brief information on land use, elevation and topography, climate, water, soils, and potential natural vegetation.
Coastal Watershed Planning and Assessment Program (California Department of Fish and Game) State program that is conducting fishery-based watershed assessments along the length of the California coast. Assessment basins are chosen as study areas based upon the nature of the socio-economic and natural resource problems within them. Emphasis is on assessing and analyzing watershed conditions for protecting and restoring salmon species and their habitats. An extensive synthesis report is prepared for each basin that includes historic and current vegetation cover and change, land use, geology and fluvial geomorphology, water quality, and instream habitat conditions. Reports include extensive maps and figures. Northwestern basins completed to date include: Northwest California: a Natural History (Sawyer) 2006 (Ref QH 105 C2 S29 2006; another copy in the Humboldt County Collection) Major overview of the natural history of northwestern California. Two introductory chapters cover the physical and cultural geography of the Klamath mountains and north coast watersheds. Subsequent chapters cover vegetation patterns, paleobotany and endemics, role of fire, impact of humans on the environment, present natural history, and preservation of the northwestern California environment. Interspersed in the chapters are lists of plant and animals species common to northwestern California. Includes a list of recommended references and readings.
The Northwest Coast: A Natural History (Schultz) 1990 (Ref QH 104.5 N6 S38 1990) General introduction to the environment of the Pacific Northwest coast from Cape Mendocino north to Cape Flattery. Chapters cover physical setting; marine mammals and birds; seashore life; esturaries; dunes and freshwater wetlands; coastal forests; and human impacts.
"Oregon-California Border" and "Redwood Coast" IN Ecological Characterization of the Pacific Northwest Coastal Region. Vol 4. Characterication Atlas-Watershed Unit Descriptions (Proctor) 1980 (print copy available in Docs I 49.2 Ec7/8) Each chaper summarizes the biological, physical and socio-economic aspects of each enviroment using text, maps and matrices.
Southern Oregon Digital Archives: Bioregion Collection (Southern Oregon University Library) Collection of over 700 online fulltext documents from federal and state agencies that relate to the Southern Oregon Klamath-Siskiyou Bioregion. Search by author, title, agency, subject or keyword.
Rain Forests of Home: Profile of a North American Bioregion (Schoonmaker, von Hagen, and Wolf) 1997 (QH 104.5 P32 R35 1997) Series of introductory chapters on Pacific Northwest coastal temperate rain forest ecology and human impacts. Earlier edition is titled Rain Forests of Home: an Atlas of People and Place (print copy available in Atlas G 1106.K1 R35 1995).
See also the Sequoia sempervirens/Coast Redwood Information Sources research guide.
For marine maps see Northwestern California Maps--Marine
For environmental pollution maps see Northwestern California Maps--Environmental Pollution
This section predominately lists resources that are regional in scope. For more detailed or site-specific studies check 1) HSU Library Catalog for books; 2) GeoRef for journal articles, government documents, conference papers, and theses; and 3) references in the following citations. For geologic maps see Northwestern California Maps--Geology.
For maps of natural communities and habitats see Northwestern California Maps--Natural Communities & Habitats
For maps of natural hazard see Northwestern California Maps--Natural Hazards
Maps and Reports
Soil Series Descriptions and Data
For vegetation maps see Northwestern California Maps--Vegetation
For water-related maps see Northwestern California Maps--Water Resources & Water Quality
For weather and climate maps of northwestern California see Northwestern California Maps--Weather