Skip to main content

Natural Resources Agency Government Documents and Technical Reports

General Indexes and Web Directories

Federal Documents -- See Indexes to Federal Documents to search for public documents that are typically distributed to federal depository libraries and Federal Government Document Databases for databases to federal web sites and technical reports.

California Documents -- See Indexes to California Documents for databases that can be used to find documents issued by California state agencies and Government Information and Databases for databases to California web sites.

Agency Indexes and Bibliographies - Federal Documents

U.S. Bureau of Land Management

U.S. Department of Agriculture 

  • Index to Publications of the United States Department of Agriculture (Docs Abstract A 21.2: In2/2) In four cumulations 1900-1925, 1926-1930, 1931-1935 and 1936-1940)
  • Agricola (HSU Users only) (Free version) (1970 to the present) and Bibliography of Agriculture (abstr S 1 B52) (1942-1969)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

U.S. Forest Service 

U.S. Geological Survey

U.S. Minerals Management Service (now US Bureau of Ocean Energy Management)

  • Environmental Studies Program Bibliography (Johnson) 1989 (Docs I 72. 12/2 89-0087) Covers 1973-1987

U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Smithsonian Institution

Agency Indexes and Bibliographies - California State Agencies

California Geological Survey (formerly California Division of Mines and Geology)

California Department of Fish & Wildlife

  • An Annotated Bibliography of Research in Economically Important Species of California Fish & Game(Cal Doc abstr F 650 R45) Covers CDFG publications and other primary publications from 1863(?)-1974.
  • Author-Title Index to Anadromous Fisheries Branch Administrative Reports, 1969-1986 (Knutson) 1988 (Cal Doc F 660 A3 88-6)
  • Index to Anadromous Fisheries Branch Administrative Reports 1969-1978 (Hoopaugh) 1979 (Cal Doc F 653 A3 79-1) Includes numerical listing by year, author index and subject index..
  • Anadromous Fisheries Branch Administrative Reports (Numerical Index by Year) 1979- (Cal Doc F 653 A3 Index)
  • Author-Title Index to Inland Administrative Reports, 1932-1987 (Knudson) 1988 (Cal Doc F 660 A3 88-7)
  • List of Inland Fisheries Administrative Reports, 1932-1994 (Numerical Index by Year ) (Cal Doc F 660 A3 Listing)
  • Bird and Mammal Conservation Program Bibliography: 1966-1996 (Gould) 1997 (print copy available in Cal Doc F 674 B571) Includes job final and progress reports, annual or periodic reports written to satisfy federal co-funding requirements, and theses, manuscripts, and articles published as a result of studies supported by contracts administered by the Species Conservation and Restoration Program (formerly known as Special Wildlife Investigations, Nongame Wildlife Investigations, Nongame Bird and Mammal Section, and Bird and Mammal Conservation Program) Includes a numerical listing by year, author index, subject index and geographic index. The online database updates the bibliography through the current date but only includes the numerical listing and the subject index.

California Department of Water Resources

  • Abstracts of DWR Publications (Cal Doc W 750 B9 # 170) Index to DWR publications. Entries include detailed abstracts. Cumulative issues cover 1922-1969, 1970-1974, 1775-1979, 1980-1984, 1985-1989, 1990-1994, and 1995-1999