Skip to main content

California Environment Information Sources

Environmental History

CA - Environmental Pollution Maps

Petroleum Related Pollution

For maps on California water quality and pollution see Water Resources and Water Quality.

  • Agricultural Pesticide Use Web Mapping Service (California Dept of Public Health. Environmental Health Investigations Branch) Uses data generated from Pesticide Use Reports to map pesticide application intensity , individual pesticides and crops. Geography extents to PLSS sections.
  • Air Quality and Meteorological Information System (AQMIS) (California Air Resources Board) Interactive database containing real-time (and historical) air quality, ozone, and meteorological data that can be used to track air quality and support smoke management and air pollution forecasting. Includes data from over 160 air quality sites and over 800 meteorological sites within less than two hours of when the data are measured. The interactive map interface will display 14 air quality and eight ground level meteorological parameters.
  • California Air Resources Board Maps Links to air pollution related maps on the ARB website.
  • CHAPIS: Community Health Air Pollution Information System (California Air Resources Board) Interactive mapper identifies sources of air pollution emissions within a specified geographic location. Select a county, region, or zip code; or use the interactive mapper to zoom to an area. The combined contribution of cars, trucks, industrial and commerical facilities, and other air pollution sources are mapped. Tools are provided that summarize statistics for an area of interest. From the CHAPIS map there are also links to other data sources, such as tools to query the statewide emission inventory database and the network of air monitoring stations.
  • GeoTracker (California State Water Resources Control Board) Interactive mapper to environmental data for regulated facilities in California including underground fuel tanks, fuel pipelines, and public drinking water supplies.
  • Pesticide Use Maps (Californians for Pesticide Reform) Includes a map for each California county showing "total pounds of active ingredient applied per square mile."

Guides and Bibliographies

  • Surf Your Watershed (US Environmental Protection Agency) Each watershed in the United States includes links to sites that contain information on watershed health, air quality, toxic waste, water quality, stream flow, water use, land characteristics, and environmental organizations. Locate watersheds by zip code, county, placename, or watershed. 

General Introductions

Introduction to Air in California (Carle) 2006 (TD 883.145 C2 C37 2006) (California Natural History Guides # 87) Covers air and wind from many perspectives, including physics, chemistry, weather, ecology, pollution, health, energy and stewardship. Includes brief descriptions of all the air quality basins in California.

Reviews and Assessments

American Lung Associaton State of the Air: California (American Lung Association) Annual report that presents county-level air quality information for ozone and particle pollution using the most up-to-date data available for nationwide comparisons. Includes two measures of particle pollution--short-term exposure, which are occasional spikes in particle pollution from relatively infrequent events; and the year-round or chronic exposure from particles produced routinely in the environment. In addition, the report includes ozone data for each county that has an ozone monitor. For each county statistics are given for number of people sensitive to air pollution, e.g., children under 14, people with asthma or emphysema.

Data Compilations

  • Air Quality and Meteorological Information System (AQMIS) (California Air Resources Board) Interactive databasee containing real-time (and historical) air quality, ozone, and meteorological data that can be used to track air quality and support smoke management and air pollution forecasting. Includes data from over 160 air quality sites and over 800 meteorological sites within less than two hours of when the data are measured. The interactive map interface will display 14 air quality and eight ground level meteorological parameters.
  • Air Quality Data Statistics (California Air Resources Board) (Print copy available in Cal Doc A 1165 A4) Database of historical air quality data obtained from air monitoring stations. Access data by region, county, pollutant, and time period.
  • California Almanac of Emissions and Air Quality (California Air Resources Board) Annual publication that contains 20-year trend summaries of air quality and emissions data for five criteria pollutants: ozone, PM10, CO, NO2, and SO2. Data are summarized for the State as a whole and for the five most populated air basins.
  • California Pesticide Use (Pesticide Action Network) Search California Pesticide Use Reporting (PUR) data for information on pesticide use by crop, chemical and geographic area.
  • Envirofacts Data Warehouse (US Environmental Protection Agency) Provides one stop access to environmental data collected by the US Environmental Protection Agency relating to air, water, and land pollution anywhere in the United States. View environmental information or generate maps by zip code, city or county. Includes data on Superfund, drinking water, toxic releases, water discharge, hazardous waste handlers, radiation, brownfields, and air polluters.
  • Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund) Uses data from federal and state sources to profile local environmental quality issues including air quality, toxic and animal waste generation, water quality, and environmental justice. Includes data, maps and lists of industrial facilities with chemical releases. Can also generate state level reports.
  • Surf Your Watershed (US Environmental Protection Agency) Each watershed has links to sites that include information on watershed health, air quality, toxic waste, water quality, stream flow, water use, land characteristics, and environmental organizations. Locate watersheds by zip code, county, placename, or watershed.