Skip to main content

California Environment Information Sources

Magazines and Journals

California Geology (formerly Mineral Information Service) (California Geological Survey) Includes news on California Geological Survey publications and projects, educational features, and articles on California geology, mines, minerals, and natural hazards. California Geology Magazine Index, 1948-1986 (Eng) 1987 (Cal Doc C 810 S59 # 92) (CGS Special Publication # 92) is a subject and author index to articles in the magazine. California Geology Magazine Index to Back Issues lists the table of contents of available issues from 1991 to 2001 when the magazine ceased publication.

Environmental History

  • California Gold Camps (Gudde) 1975 (Ref F 865 G83) "Geographical and Historical Dictionary of Camps, Towns, and Localities Where Gold Was Found and Mined; Wayside Stations and Trading Centers." Includes maps of selected places names, extensive bibliography and list of places by county.
  • California Mines and Minerals (Calfornia Mining Association) 1899. "...a plain statement of facts, regarding our great state and its mineral wealth.". Chapters cover various aspects of gold mining, plus chapters on petroleum and copper.
  • Energy and the Making of Modern California (Williams) 1997 (TJ 163.25 U6 W536 1997) History of energy production, distribution and use in California from its beginning to the present. Also included is an analysis of energy policy and trends, with an emphasis on the last 30 years; political movements and energy; and the role of energy in the development of other sectors of the state, e.g., agriculture. All forms of energy are covered--muscle power, water power, fuel wood, coal, natural gas, liquified natural gas, hydroelectricity, nuclear, wind, solar and geothermal.
  • Geologic Formations and Economic Development of the Oil and Gas Fields of California (California Division of Mines) 1943 (Cal Doc C810 B9 #118) (California Division of Mines Bulletin # 118) In four parts-- pt. 1. Development of the industry.--pt. 2. Geology of California and the occurrence of oil and gas.--pt. 3. Descriptions of individual oil and gas fields.--pt. 4. Glossaries, bibliography. Second major presentation of California geology after Reed's Geology of California in 1933. Also provides an early history of the oil and gas industry in California.
  • Oil and Gas Production History in California (California Department of Conservation Division of Oil, Gas and Geothermal Resources) 2005. Eight page overview.

CA - Energy and Mineral Resources Maps

California's Major Electric Transmission Lines
  • California Active Gold Mines 2000-2001 (California Geological Survey)
  • California Geothermal Resources ((US Department of Energy) 2003. Statewide map shows regions of known or potential geothermal resources and specific locations of geothermal applications and features.
  • California On-Line Energy Maps (California Energy Commission) Series of statewide California maps showing power plants; transmission lines and pipelines; service areas and renewable energy capabilities.
  • California Wind Atlas ( California Energy Commission and California Department of Water Resources) 1985 (Cal Docs E 2015 W55) Available wind data for California is summarized using charts, maps, and graphs.
  • California Principal Mineral Producing Localities (US Geological Survey & California Division of Mines & Geology) From Minerals Yearbook
  • DOGGR Online Mapping System (DOMS) (California Department of Conservation. Divison of Oil, Gas and Geothermal Resources) Interactive mapping application that allows one to: 1) create, view and print maps of oil and gas wells; and 2) access production data and scanned well records for individual wells.
  • Energy Map of California (California Division of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources) 2000 (print map available in map G4361 N3 2000 C2) 1:1,000,000 scale map shows sedimentary basins; oil, gas, and geothermal fields; oil, gas and product pipelines; tanker ports; refineries; and geothermal, nuclear, wind, cogeneration, hydroelectric, and fossil fuel electrical-generation plants.
  • Geothermal Map of California (California Division of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources and California Geological Survey) 2002. Map showing geothermal fields, known geothermal resource areas, high-temperature wells, geothermal springs, and power plants. Includes table of " Geothermal Spring Data for California".
  • Geothermal Resources of California (California Division of Mines and Geology) 1980 (California Geologic Data Map #4) (map G 4361 N32 1980 C35; also Cal Doc C 810 G4d #40 See the annotation for the Technical Map of the Geothermal Resources of California.
  • Map of California Historic Gold Mines (California Divison of Mines and Geology) 1998. Shows the location of 13,500 historic California gold mines. Produced for the California Gold Discovery to Statehood Sesquicentennial (1998-2000).
  • Maps of Seeps in California (US Geological Survey and California Department of Conservation) Maps of oil and gas seeps and fields in California
  • Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) (US Geological Survey) Interactive mapper includes information on deposit name, location, commodity, deposit description, geologic characteristics, production, reserves, resources, and references for both metallic and nonmetallic mineral resources. Part of Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial Data that includes a series of iInteractive maps and downloadable data for geology, geochemistry, geophysics, and mineral resources of the United States and the world.
  • Mines and Mineral Producers Active in California (1997-1998) 1999 (Cal Docs C810 S59 # 103) (CGS Special Publication # 103) List of active mines in California by county, with indexes by commodity and county; and operator and mine. Appendix includes a series of maps for each major mineral commodity that shows location of mines. Also includes a 1:500,000 scale map that shows locations of all mines keyed to an index in the report.
  • Mining Districts and Mineral Deposits of California (Mardirosian) 1974 (map G 4361 H1 1974 M3) Sheet 2 is a "List of Mining Districts and Mineral Deposits by Counties."
  • Oil, Gas and Geothermal Fields in California (California Department of Conservation. Division of Oil, Gas and Geothermal Resources) 2001 (print copy available in G 4361 H8 2001 C33) Shows oil and gas districts, geothermal districts, oil fields, gas fields, geothermal fields, and sedimentary basins with oil, gas, or geothermal production. More detailed district maps that show individual oil and gas wells are also available.
  • Renewable Energy Atlas of the West: California (Land and Water Fund of the Rockies) The basic atlas profiles and maps wind, solar, geothermal and biomass power in the 11 Western states, including availability, current status, and government policies. Includes a regional overview and profiles for each state. The basic site contains both a collection of maps and an interactive mapper.
  • Technical Map of the Geothermal Resources of California (Majmundar) 1983 (Cal Docs C 810 G4d #5) (California Geologic Data Map #5) More detailed and technical map at a 1:750,000 scale than the original Geothermal Resources of California map. Shows relationships between geothermal resources, faults, and Quaternary volcanic rocks. The text also provides technical information on the chemistry of individual geothermal waters and interpertations of subsurface temperatures. The Text for the Technical Map of the Geothermal Resources of California is available.

Guides and Bibliographies

  • Battles over Energy" IN Bibliography of California Environmental History pp. 108-119 (Teisch) 1998 (GE 155 C2 G75 1998) Lists primary and secondary books and journal articles.

  • California Geological Survey (formerly California Division of Mines and Geology)

    • California Geology Magazine Index, 1948-1986 (Eng) 1987 (Cal Doc C 810 S59 # 92) (CGS Special Publication # 92) Subject and author index to articles appearing in theCalifornia Geology magazine and the earlierMineral Information Service. California Geology Magazine Index to Back Issues lists the table of contents of available issues from 1991 to 2001 when the magazine ceased publication.

    • Consolidated Index of Publications, Division of Mines and State Mining Bureau, 1880-1943(Bradley) 1945 (print copy available in Cal Docs C 810 B9 #131) (California Division of Mines Bulletin #131) Detailed index to bureau publications that includes entries by author, county, mine and mining district.

    • Publications of the California Division of Mines to July 1, 1961 (Egenhoff and Rice) 1962 (Cal Docs C 810 P9 1961) Includes detailed table of contents by series, author index , and subject index.

  • Publications Database (California Geological Survey) Annual (print copy available in Cal Docs C 810 P9) Lists currently available publications by series or county.

  • List of U.S. Geological Survey Geologic and Water-Supply Reports and Maps for California (US Geological Survey) 1987 (Abstract Docs I 19.41/7: C12) Lists reports published by the US Geological Survey relating to the geology, mineral resources and water resources of California from 1880 to 1987. Reports are listed by series with subject and county indexes.

  • Publications Warehouse (US Geological Survey) Indexes over 5300 geologic, mineral resource and hydrologic reports and maps covering California. Includes links to online fulltext if available.

  • Reports, Publications, Papers, and Presentations of the California Energy Commission (California Energy Commission) Searchable database of CEC publications. CEC publishes between 250 and 500 reports, papers, fact sheets, technical briefs, and other publications each year. All publications since 2005 are available online and most publications between 1995 and 2005 are also online.

General Introductions

  • California Minerals and Mines (Dunn) 2000 (Cal Docs C 810 M565 cd-rom) Contains approximately 1000 scanned photographs of minerals and current and historic mines, along with accompanying text. Descriptions of mineral images include specimen information, the photographer, physical properties, chemical formula, classification, uses, synonyms/varieties, and crystallography. Descriptions of mine images include information on mines, claims or deposits, and the photographer. Searches can be performed on mineral name, county, mineral classification, mineral uses, and mine name. There are special features including a map search, a "slide show," mineral collecting and quizzes.
  • Gold Districts of California (Clark) 1998 reprint of 1970 edition (print copy available in Cal Docs C 810 B9 # 193) (CGS Bulletin # 191) Contains descriptions of each gold-bearing district in California. Longer district descriptions contain information on location and extent, history, geology and character of the ore deposits, a list of mines and a bibliography. Production figures are given when available. Includes a list of districts by county and an alphabetical list of mines.
  • Introduction to Energy in California (Asmus) 2009 (TJ 163.25 C2 A856 2009) (California Natural History Guides # 97) Primer on energy scienc and policy in California. Chapters cover the human history of California's energy development, including nuclear energy; the natural history of fossil and hydroelectric energy sources; growth of alternative energy sources; current challenges and future innovations.
  • Mineral Resources of California (US Geological Survey, US Bureau of Mines and California Division of Mines and Geology) 1966 (print copy available in Cal Doc C 810 B9 # 191) (CGS Bulletin # 191) Covers all mineral commodities known to exist in potentially significant amounts in California. The geology, distribution, production, history and availability of each commodity is portrayed graphically through maps, charts and diagrams. Also includes an introductory review of the geology of the 10 geomorphic provinces of California. Two earlier reports are titled Mineral Commodities of California and were published in 1950 and 1957 respectively as Bulletins # 156 and 176 (Cal Doc C 810 B9 # 156 and # 176).
  • Minerals of California (Pemberton) 1983 (QE 375 C32 P45 1983) Lists the 736 terrestrial mineral species found in Califonia by major classification group. For each mineral species lists occurrence by county along with references to each occurrence. Includes some occurrence maps and b/w photographs. Most recent in a series of compilations on California minerals that began in 1866 by the California Geological Survey. CGS Bulletin #189 (Cal Docs C 810 B9 # 189) published in 1966 lists the earlier volumes in the series.
  • Renewable State Profile -- California (US Energy Information Administration) One page profile includes electric power statistics from all sources for the period 1999-2003, renewable energy resource maps; state incentives for renewable energy; state market share capacity, generation and rankings for renewable energy sources; and links to additional sources of information.
  • State Energy Profile -- California (US Energy Information Administration) Includes section on quick facts; overview section on consumption, petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity and renewables; data section; and links to additional resources.

Reviews and Assessments

  • Benefits and Risks of Nuclear Power in California (Dunstan) 2002. Policy report prepared by the California Research Bureau for the State Legislature.
  • Integrated Energy Policy Report (California Energy Commission) Produced every two years with an intervening update every other year. The CEC is required by law to conduct "...assessments and forecasts of all aspects of energy industry supply, production, transportation, delivery and distribution, demand, and prices. The Energy Commission shall use these assessments and forecasts to develop energy policies that conserve resources, protect the environment, ensure energy reliability, enhance the state's economy, and protect public health and safety."
  • Mines and Mineral Resources of [County] 1913- (California Geological Survey) Series of county reports appearing in various CGS publications that review the mineral resources and the mines within the county associated with that commodity. Some counties have multiple reports over time. For a listing of reports and sources see the last section of Information on Mines and Mining in the UCR Science Library.
  • National Oil & Gas Assessment (U.S. Geological Suvey Energy Resources Program) Periodic assessment of the oil and natural gas endowment of the United States. There are 11 provinces in California that are assessed. For each province includes a overall geological assessement and individual assessments of each play.
  • Nuclear Power in California: Status Report and 2007 Status Report (California Energy Commission) Two consultant reports provides background and factual information on California’s nuclear power plants and key nuclear power issues such as nuclear waste storage, disposal, and transportation.
  • Southwest Region In Wind Energy Resource Atlas of the United States (National Renewable Energy Laboratory) As part of a national assessment this section cover the wind energy resource of California. It indicates general areas where a high wind resource may exist and is valuable to wind energy developers and potential wind energy users because it allows them to choose a general area of estimated high wind resource for more detailed examination.

Data Compilations

  • California Energy Almanac (California Energy Commission) Provides a statistical overview and in-depth statistics of California's energy consumption and industry. Areas covered include electicity, natural gas/LNG, nuclear, petroleum, power plants, propane, renewable energy (biomass, geothermal, hydroelectric, solar and wind) and transportation.
  • California Energy Consumption Database (California Energy Commission) Contains electricity and natural gas consumption data. Users can generate reports showing the amount of energy consumed by geographical area, sector (residential, commercial, industrial) classifications. Data can be downloaded into Microsoft Excel (XLS) and comma-separated values (CSV) file formats.
  • California Oil and Gas Fields (California Department of Conservation. Division of Oil and Gas) 1981 (Cal Docs C 815 O5b ) Three regional volumes that include maps and data sheets containing geologic and statistical data on each oil and gas field in California.
  • California Solar Data Manual (Berdahl) 1978 (Cal Doc E 2015 S641) Includes solar data in a variety of representations for use in solar energy applications.
  • California's Non-Fuel Mineral Production (California Geological Survey) Annual summary of mineral production, mining events and mining legislation. This material is incorporated into the annual USGS report on the Mineral Industry of California.
  • Mineral Industry of California (Mineral Yearbook. Vol II. Area Reports: Domestic) (US Geological Survey) Annual (print copies back to 1932 available in Docs I 28.37 and Docs I 19.165; and earlier volumes online at Bureau of Mines Minerals Yearbook (1932-1993) ) Text and statistical tables review metal and nonmetal mineral production in California. Includes a state map annotated with major commodity production locations. California reports began on a regular basis starting in 1952. Earlier years selectively covered gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc production in California. Mineral fuels were included as part of the state report until 1977. Reports are prepared by the California Geological Survey.
  • Mineral Production of California (California Geological Survey) 1894- Annual report with varying titles appearing in various publications of the California Geological Survey starting with CGS Bulletin #7 published in 1895. Use Publications of the California Division of Mines to July 1, 1961 to trace the series.
  • Mines and Mineral Producers Active in California (1997-1998) 1999 (Cal Docs C810 S59 # 103) (CGS Special Publication # 103) List of active mines in California by county, with indexes by commodity and county; and operator and mine. Appendix includes a series of maps for each major mineral commodity that shows location of mines. Also includes a 1:500,000 scale map that shows locations of all mines keyed to an index in the report. Latest in a series of periodic reports.
  • State Energy Data System: California (US Energy Information Administration) Contains annual statistics on energy consumption, prices, expenditures and production from 1960 to the present.