Skip to main content
Public Health Maps
- Atlas of Cancer Mortality in the United States, 1950-94 (US National Cancer Institute) 1999 (print copy available in Docs HE 20.3152:M84/4) shows geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers. Web site allows you to create custom maps that use the following parameters: geographic area (state, county, state economic area), white/black, male, female, age, time period and cancer.
- Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke (World Health Organization) 2004. Global maps, charts, text and statistical tables present information on heart disease and stroke risk factors, incidence, and mortality.
- Atlas of Stroke Mortality (National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion) 2003 Contains national and state maps that show local disparities in stroke death rates by gender and by the five largest racial and ethnic groups in the United States (i.e., American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asians and Pacific Islanders, blacks, Hispanics, and whites). Includes both an interactive mapper and pdf images of the print atlas.
- Atlas of United States Mortality (Pickle, Mungiole, Jones and White)1996 (print copy available in Docs HE 20.6202:AT 6 and cd-rom in Docs HE 20.6209/12:1 cd-rom case) Uses choropleth maps to show the 18 leading causes of death by race and sex in 805 Health Service Areas that correspond to counties or groups of counties.
- Global Atlas of Infectious Diseases (World Health Organization) Includes three sections: 1) Data Query – that allows users to browse, view, query, search the contents of the WHO’s Communicable Disease global database and output data in reports, charts and maps; 2) Interactive Mapping – that provides a user-friendly mapping interface that allows users to select geographic areas of interest (global, national, district and community level) and create maps of diseases, the location of health facilities, schools, roads, geographic features; and 3) Maps and Resources – that provides access to static maps and related documents, publications and statistics on infectious diseases. Currently the atlas contains over 300 indicators on over 20 infectious diseases such as AIDS and malaria.
- Heart Disease Atlases (National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion) Over 200 national and state maps highlight geographic, racial, and ethnic inequalities in women's and men's heart disease death rates for the five major racial and ethnic groups. Includes an interactive mapper and pdf images of Women and Heart Disease: An Atlas of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Mortality and Men and Heart Disease: An Atlas of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Mortality.
- Inheriting the world: the Atlas of Children's Health and the Environment (Gordon, Mackay and Rehfuess) 2004. Maps and graphics demonstrate the health and environmental threats that children face worldwide, and underscore the impact of poverty on children's health. Produced by the World Health Organization.
- Injury Maps (National Center for Injury Prevention and Control) Interactive mapper provides access to the geographic distribution of injury-related mortality rates in the the United States. Create county-level and state-level maps of age-adjusted mortality rates for the entire United States and for individual states.
- Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health (National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Division of Reproductive Health) Interactive mapper will generate choropleth maps on a US or individual state basis related to reproductive health issues such as infant mortality, fertility and low birth weight . One can generate comparisons across time, geography, and population groups using statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics database.
- Poverty Mapping (FAO, UNEP and the CGIAR) Collection of world and regional poverty maps grouped into the following themes-- demographic indicators; economy and markets; education; energy; food security; health; poverty indicators; urban areas; and water and sanitation. These poverty maps are spatial representations of poverty assessments. The assessment information comes from a variety of sources, e.g., indicators of income poverty (such as GDP per capita or daily subsistence levels), or of well-being (such as life expectancy, child mortality, or literacy) Various indicators may be combined to give an index of poverty or human development (such as the Human Development Index, a composite of life expectancy, literacy and income).
- UC Atlas of Global Inequality (University of California, Santa Cruz. Center for Global, International and Regional Studies) Contains data and graphics for individual countries and maps on a global scale that focus on globalization inequality from 1960 to 2000. Data and maps cover demographic, economic and health issues related in global inequality.