Arctic Environmental Atlas (GRID - Arendal and United Nations Environmental Programme) Interactive atlas of the Arctic region (everything 50 degrees north of the equator). Themes include topography, land cover, permafrost, population density, human impact and wilderness, drainage basins, ecoregions, and other themes.
AAAS Atlas of Population & Environment (Harrison & Pearce) 2000 (atlas HB 849.415 H374 2000)
Atlas of United States Environmental Issues (Mason & Mattson) 1990 (atlas G 1201 G3 M3 1990)
Atlas of U.S. and Canadian Environmental History (Miller) 2003 (GF 503 A84 2003)
Conservation and Ecology (National Geographic Map Machine) Collection of interactive maps US and world on the environment, land use, natural hazards and weather.
EarthTrends (World Resources Institute) Contains over 100 maps on a world base that represent a broad range of environmental topics including water, climate, biodiversity, agriculture, population, and health. Under each category click on the "maps" option. Part of a larger environmental information portal.
Ecological Inventory Map Series (US Fish and Wildlife Service) 1980-1982 (Docs I 49.6/5: Ec7) Series of maps on a 1:250,000 USGS map base that shows the distribution of fish, wildlife, and plant species along the coastal areas of the conterminous 48 states. Species with special status are shown in red. Some land use and land cover designations are also shown. There are a total of 79 maps issued in four series: Atlantic Coast, Gulf Coast, Lower Mississippi Basin, and Pacific Coast. Each series includes an accompanying Users Guide and Information Base report that provides detailed explanations and additional technical information about the ecological data plotted on the maps.
Ecoregions (US Forest Service. Inventory & Monitoring Institute Ecoregions Center) Includes an image of the "North American Ecoregions Map" and other ecoregions maps as well as downloadable versions for use in gis applications.
Environmental Sensitivity Index Maps (US National Ocean Service. Office of Response and Restoration) Uses USGS 7.5 minute quadrangles as a base map to present three types of information that can be used in oil spill contingency planning and assessment--shoreline classification as it relates to oil contamination sensitivity, sensitive human-use resources such as water intakes, and sensitive biological resources such as seabird colonies.
Geo Data Portal (United Nations Environment Programme) Includes data sets used in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other environment assessments. The database holds more than 400 variables that are available as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps). Topics covered include themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Data can be displayed on-the-fly as interactive maps, graphs, data tables or downloaded in different formats.
Maps and Graphics (UN Environment Programme - GRID) Collection of over 100 maps and charts on various environmental topics organized by theme or geographic area..
Interactive Map Service (UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre) Series of specialized interactive atlases and maps covering biodiversity and marine topics.
New State of the Earth Atlas (Seager) 1995 (Atlas G 1046 G3 S4 1995)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The EPA generates a wealth of information relating to air quality, water quality, and hazardous waste generation, management, and disposal. Statistics and maps are available at a variety of geographic levels - national, state, county, metropolitan area, zip code, and watershed. Mapping resources available include:
Atlas of America's Polluted Waters (paper copy available in Docs EP 2.2:AT6) Contains maps for each state depicting waters that do not meet state water quality standards.
MyEnvironment Search by neighborhood and to learn about air quality, cancer risk levels, water quality, hazardous waste generators, brownfields and other factors that determine the overall environmental quality and livability of a community.
TOXMAP: Environmental Health e-Maps (US National Library of Medicine) Maps toxic releases and hazardous waste sites from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and the Superfund National Priorities List (NPL).
WildWorld (National Geographic Society and World Wildlife Fund) Interactive mapper provides maps and profiles of terrestrial ecosystems of the world and priority areas for conservation.
World Atlas of Biodiversity: Earths Living Resources in the 21st Century (Groombridge and Jenkins) 2002 (print copy available in ref QH 541.15 B56 G762 2002) Prepared by the UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre this work uses text, maps, figures and tables to outline the broad ecological relationships between humans and the environment and to summarize trends and conditions of the Earth's main ecosystem types. General chapters include information on biodiversity through time; diversity of organisms; humans, food and biodiversity; and global biodiversity. Specific chapers cover the state of terrestrial, marine, and inland water biodiversity. The web site includes interactive maps that appear in the print text.