Skip to main content

Maps and Atlases

Demographic Maps

income distribution map

Other Places to Look:


  • US Census Bureau
    • American FactFinder (US Census Bureau) Includes data from the Decennial population census, the annual American Community Survey, the Economic Census conducted every five years and annual economic surveys. Interactive "reference maps" show selected geographic boundaries and features. "Thematic maps" show geographic patterns in statistical data, such as population or median income, displayed as color-coded areas on a map.
    • Census Atlas of the United States (Suchan and others) 2007 (print copy available in Docs C 3.205/8-3:29 folio) Contains approximately 800 maps covering United States demography from 1790 to 2000, with an emphasis on demographic patterns revealed by the 2000 Census. Maps range from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population. A majority of the maps present data at the county level, but data also are sometimes mapped by state, census tract (for largest cities and metropolitan areas), or for selected American Indian reservations. This is the first atlas produced by the US Census Bureau since the last edition of the Statistical Atlas of the United States published in 1925 (print copy available in Docs C 3.2 At6:1924).
    • Census Bureau Map Products (U.S Census Bureau) Collection of reference and thematic maps from the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
    • Census Tract Outline Maps--PDF Files (U.S. Census Bureau) 2002 (Docs C 3.275 M32 DVD--cd-rom cabinet) Contains 2000 Census of Population and Housing census tract maps for each county in the United States. Similar maps can also be generated using American Factfinder's "reference maps".
    • Mapping Census 2000: the Geography of U.S. Diversity (Brewer and Suchan) 2001 (print copy available in Docs C 3.2: M32; also available on cd-rom under same call number) Shows county-level detail on a U.S. basemap for the basic patterns and changes in population distribution between 1990 and 2000.
  • Atlas of the 1990 Census (Mattson) 1992 (atlas G 1201 E2 M3 1992) Presents results from the first tabulations of data from the 1990 U.S. Census in a series of maps. The atlas is divided into six parts concerned with population, households, housing, race and ethnicity, the economy, and education.
  • Atlas of United States Mortality (Pickle, Mungiole, Jones and White)1996 (print copy available in Docs HE 20.6202:AT 6 and cd-rom in Docs HE 20.6209/12:1 cd-rom case) Uses choropleth maps to show the 18 leading causes of death by race and sex in 805 Health Service Areas that correspond to counties or groups of counties.
  • CensusScope Demographic Maps (University of Michigan Social Science Data Analysis Network) Includes a series of choropleth maps on a US basemep that show demographic patterns. One can click on individual states to get more detailed charts and graphs.
  • DataPlace (KnowledgePlex) Produce demographic and housing thematic maps from US Census and other government sources at geographies ranging from the local neighborhood to the nation.
  • Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Thorndale and Dollarhide) 1987 (Abstract Docs G 1201 F7 T5 1987) Shows county outline maps at 10-year intervals, beginning with 1790.
  • Modern Language Association Language Map (Modern Language Association) Uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and seven groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States. There are three features on this site: 1) the Language Map interactive mapper creates choropleth maps showing the density of language speakers by county or zip code at the national or state level; 2) the Compare Languages and Places feature generates interactive maps for two languages in the same state, or compares the density of the same language in two states. (Zoom in on both national maps to focus on regions or zoom in on state maps to focus on clusters of counties or zip codes); and 3) the Data Center provides actual numbers and percentages of speakers.
  • Social Explorer Includes demographic maps and reports from 1790 to the present. The free version is more limited in available maps and reports.
  • UC Atlas of Global Inequality (University of California, Santa Cruz. Center for Global, International and Regional Studies) Contains data and graphics for individual countries and maps on a global scale that focus on globalization inequality from 1960 to 2000. Data and maps cover demographic, economic and health issues related in global inequality.
  • 2000 U.S. Census Data (National Geographic Society Map Machine) Interactive mapper allows one to choose from 20 different attributes dealing with population, work force status, education and employment status and income status. View choropleth maps down to the census tract level.
  • We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity (Allen & Turner) 1988 (Atlas G 1200 E1 A44 1988 folio) Uses 1980 U.S. Census data to map the distribution and densities of 67 ethnic groups, including Native Americans, for all 3,100 U.S counties. Also shows similar data on smaller maps using 1920 census data.