Skip to main content

Maps and Atlases

Celestial Maps

  • Sky Maps and Atlases (Open Directory Project) Directory of links to Internet sites with atlases and software on celestrial objects.
  • Cambridge Star Atlas (Tirion) 2001 (ref QB 65 T537 2001) Covers the whole sky in 20 overlapping full color charts that show stars to magnitude 6.5 and about 900 non-stellar objects such as clusters and galaxies that are visible in binoculars or a small telescope. A set of all-sky monthly star maps is also included for northern and southern latitudes.
  • Google Mars (Google) Contains detailed scientific imagery of Mars in three views: 1) an "Elevation" view showing shaded relief color-coded by altitude; 2) a "Visible" mosaic of images from the visible portion of the spectrum; and 3) a "Infrared"mosaic of images from the infrared portion of the spectrum.
  • Historical Celestial Atlases on the Web (van Gent) Includes links to historical celestial atlases and globes on the internet and to virtual exhibitions on celestial cartography. Up to middle of the 19th century, celestial atlases and globes were considered to be both works of precision and art and in many cases were the result of accomplished astronomers and artisans.
  • Lunar Atlases (Lunar and Planetary Institute) Includes the Lunar Orbiter Atlas of the Moon, Consolidated Lunar Atlas, Apollo Image Atlas and the Lunar Map Catalog.
  • Map-a-Planet (US Geological Survey Astrogeology Research Program) Access, customize and download image maps of the planets and their moonsfrom a variety of missions in an easy to use web interface. Select a planet or moon and choose from a list of available datasets.
  • NASA Atlas of the Solar System (Greeley and Batson) 1997 (Atlas folio G 1000 G7 1997) Contains images of 30 solar system objects with maps of 26. It combines colorful and detailed pictures and maps with text to explain the processes that shaped each object's surface.
  • Norton's Star Atlas and Reference Handbook, Epoch 2000.0 ((Ridpath and Norton) 2004 (ref QB 64 R43 2004) Star atlas for amateur astronomers that contains maps, arranged in slices known as gores, each covering approximately one-fifth of the sky. 8,700 stars visible to the naked eye under the clearest skies -- down to magnitude 6.5 -- are charted along with star clusters, nebulae and galaxies. Extensive tables of data on interesting objects for observation accompany each of the precision drawn maps.
  • Sky Atlas 2000.0 (Tirion and Sinnott) 1998 (Atlas QB 65 T54 1998) Star atlas for intermediate and advanced amateur astronomers. Contains 26 charts covering the entire sky. It shows 81,312 single, multiple, and variable stars of magnitude 8.5 and brighter as well as 2,700 deep-sky objects. The Sky Atlas 2000.0 Companion (ref QB 65 S87 2000) contains a complete listing of the locations, characteristics, and special features of the 2,700 deep-sky objects plotted in the atlas.
  • Skymaps.com For the celestial viewer this site offers a monthly map of the sky for the southern and northern hemispheres in a print-friendly format.
  • Uranometria 2000.0 Deep Sky Atlas (Tirion, Rappaport, and Remaklus) 2001 (ref QB 65 U78 2001) Comprehensive three-volume deep-sky atlas that plots more than 280,000 stars and 30,000 nonstellar objects to 9.75 magnitude on 220 charts at a scale of 1.85 cm per degree of declination.