Skip to main content

Maps and Atlases

Aeronautical Charts

  • Jet Navigation Chart (US National Imagery and Mapping Agency) (G 3201 P6 s2000 U5) Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:2,000,000 showing topographic features by shaded relief.See index in the map vertical filing cabinet in the Library or TPC, ONC, JNC and GNC Charts of the World (Omni Resources).
  • Maptech MapServer: Aeronautical Charts (Maptech) Displays National Ocean Service aeronautical charts (1:50,000 to 1:125,000 scale Helicopter Route Charts, 1:250,000 scale Terminal Area Charts, and 1:500,000 scale Sectional Aeronautical Charts). Search for charts by placename, zip code, or geographic coordinate. For a geographic area several scales may be available. One can pan to adjacent charts and display portions of each chart at 100% or 50% resolution. Print, save, or email what is being displayed.
  • Operational Navigation Chart (US National Imagery and Mapping Agency) (G 3201 P6 s1000 U5) Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:1,000,000 showing topographic features by shaded relief and 1,000 foot contouring. The electronic version is known as the Digital Chart of the World. See index on the Map Display Panel in the Atlas and Map Collection in the Library or TPC, ONC, JNC and GNC Charts of the World (Omni Resources).
  • Sectional Aeronautical Chart (US National Ocean Service) (G 3701 P6 s500 U5) Series of 50 charts covering the United States at a scale of 1:500,000 which are designed for visual navigation of slow to medium speed aircraft. The topographic information featured consists of the shaded relief and a judicious selection of visual checkpoints used for flight under visual flight rules. The checkpoints include populated places, drainage patterns, roads, railroads, and other distinctive landmarks. The aeronautical information on Sectional Charts includes visual and radio aids to navigation, airports, controlled airspace, restricted areas, obstructions, and related data. Updated semi-annually. The Aeronautical Chart User's Guide includes includes explanations of chart terms and aeronautical charting symbols.
  • SkyVector.com Displays National Ocean Service 1:250,000 scale Terminal Area Charts, and 1:500,000 scale Sectional Aeronautical Charts.
  • Tactical Pilotage Chart (US National Imagery and Mapping Agency) (G 3201 P6 s500 U5) Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:500,000. Elevation shown by 500-foot contours and color tints. Presence of vegetation shown on some maps. This is the most detailed map coverage in the HSU Library for many areas of the world. See index on Map Display Panel in the Atlas and Map Collection in the Library or TPC, ONC, JNC and GNC Charts of the World (Omni Resources).
  • VFR Terminal Area Chart (US National Ocean Service) (G 3201 P6 s250 U5) Series of 30 charts at a scale of 1:250,000 that depict airspace designated as Terminal Control Areas (TCAs). Updated semi-annually. The Aeronautical Chart User's Guide includes includes explanations of chart terms and aeronautical charting symbols.
  • World Aeronautical Chart (US National Ocean Service) (G 3201 P6 s1000 U5) Series of charts covering the United States at a scale of 1:1,000,000 that are designed for navigation by moderate speed aircraft and aircraft operating at high altitudes. The topographical information includes city tints, principal roads, railroads, distinctive landmarks, drainage patterns and shaded relief. The aeronautical information includes visual and radio aids to navigation, airports, airways, restricted areas, obstructions and other pertinent data. Updated annually. The Aeronautical Chart User's Guide includes includes explanations of chart terms and aeronautical charting symbols.