Skip to main content

International Development

Development Reviews and Indicators

This section includes annual or regular recurring reports that highlight recent developments or provide indicators that index progress in development. See also Environmental Reviews listed in the Environmental Science Research Guide.

  • Links to Key Status Reports (International Institute for Sustainable Development) Directory of links to reviews on the economy and development; environment and human settlements; food, health, and social issues; and policy and governance

  • Human Development Report (United Nations Development Programme) Annual (latest edition in Ref HD 72 H85) Report that emphasizes people in the development process in terms of economic debate, policy and advocacy. Statistical tables include four composite indices for human development—the Human Development Index, the Gender-related Development Index, the Gender Empowerment Measure, and the Human Poverty Index. Each report focuses on a current development theme.

  • Millenium Development Goals Report (United Nations) Annual report on progress towards achievement of the eight MDGs.

  • Report on the World Social Situation (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Biennial report that serves as a background document for discussion and policy analysis of socio-economic matters at the intergovernmental level. It identifies emerging social trends of international concern and analyzes the relationships among major development issues that have both international and national dimensions.

  • Social Indicators of Development (World Bank) Annual (Ref HC 59.69 S63) Social indicators are reported in two sections for each country: 1) poverty indicators and 2) resources and expenditures. The former includes indicators of population growth (including data on fertility and infant mortality); poverty; consumer prices, education, and health. The latter category includes: size, growth, and structure of population; labor force; eduction; natural resources; income; expenditures on food, housing, fuel and power, transport and communication; and investment in medical care and education.

  • State of World Population (United Nations Population Fund) Annual report, each with a thematic emphasis.

  • UNCTAD Trade and Develoment Report (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) Annual report that analyses current economic trends and major policy issues of international concern, and makes suggestions for addressing these issues at various levels. The companion work is the UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics that is a comprehensive collection of statistical data on international trade, investment and development. Data is available for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings.

  • United Nations World Water Development Report (UNESCO) Triennial report representing a collaboration between 24 UN agencies and convention secretariats that provides a comprehensive review of the state of the world's freshwater resources and tools and policies needed to implement sustainable use of water.

  • World Developement Indicators (World Bank) Annual (HSU users only) Includes more than development 800 indicators in 83 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. Data is included for more than 150 countires. Selected indicators are available for recent years from the World Bank and the United Nations.

  • World Development Report (World Bank) Annual (print copy available in HC 59.7 W659; latest year in Reference) Annual report on development progress that reviews the economic, social and environmental state of the world. Each year the report provides an in-depth analysis of a specific topic. The last section includes indicators for 150 countries selected from the complementary publication entitled World Development Indicators.

  • World Economic and Social Survey (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Annual report that provides an objective analysis of long-term social and economic development issues, and discusses the positive and negative impact of corresponding policies.

  • World Economic Situation and Prospects (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Annual analysis of current developments in the world economy and emerging policy issues.

  • Yearbook of International Co-operation on Environment and Development (Fridtjof Nansen Institute) Annual (print copy available in Ref HC 79 E5 G69) Annual guide to major instruments and players in international cooperation on the environment and sustainable development. Sections include evaluation articles unique to each annual edition that offer an assessment of current issues, key themes, main players and instruments; reference sections on international agreements, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental organizations; and links to selected internet resources.