Native American Studies Research Guide

A simple combined search of two general, all-subject databases, Omnifile and Academic Search Premier, is a great place to begin searching for journal articles.

Then use the Finding Articles tab in the menu to access your discipline databases, e.g., Anthrohub or Ethnic Newswatch to find articles about specific topics and links to fulltext of many of the articles.

These items are located in the main stacks, Special Collections, or online.

• American Ethnological Society, Monographs (E 51 A556)
• Annual Reports, Commissioner of Indian Affairs (Docs Serial Set; some in Docs I20.5 (1871, 1921-1932); some are online at Native American Documents Project).  For publishing history see article by Bernholz and Carr
• Anthropological Records (E 51 A58) Access full text via AnthroHub.
• University of California Publications in American Archaeology and Ethnology (E 51 C15) Access full text via AnthroHub.
• Reports of the University of California Archaeology Survey (F 863 C255) Access full text via AnthroHub.
• Contributions of the University of California Archaeological Research Facility (E 51 C2) Access full text via AnthroHub.
• Kroeber Anthropological Society Papers (GN 2 K76) Access full text via AnthroHub.
• American Anthropological Association Memoirs (GN 2 A22)
• U.S. Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin (Docs SI 2.3; Index to authors and titles is #200, 1914, also online)
• U.S. Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Report (Docs SI 2.1; Index to volumes 1- 48 is 48th Annual Report, 1930-31)

• Akwesasne Notes (MF 1218) v.1, 1969-1997
• American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research (RC 451.5 I5 W43) v.1, 1987-v.8, no.3, 1999, then online.
• American Indian Art Magazine (E 98 A7 A43) v.1, 1975-to date
• American Indian Culture and Research Journal (E 98 C9 A45) v.1, 1974-to date. Cumulative index, v.1-26, 1974-2002, in v.26:4
• American Indian Journal (E 75 A645) v.1-9, 1975-1987. Cumulative index, v.1-6, in v.6
• American Indian Law Review (E 75 A65) v.1, 1973-to date
• American Indian Quarterly (E 75 A547) v.1, 1974-to date
• California Archaeology (E 78 c15 C23) v.1, 2009-v.5 (2013)
• European Review of Native American Studies (E 75 E97) v.6, 1992-2007.
• Indian Historian (E 77 I5) v.1-4, 1964-1967; n.s. v.1-12, 1967-1979. Merged with Wassaja v.13, 1980, to form Wassaja, the Indian Historian
• International Journal of American Linguistics (PM 101 I5) v.1-62 (MF 2290), v.63, 1997-to date
• Journal of American Indian Education (E 97 J63) v.1-9 (MC 1273), v.10, 1970-to date. Cumulative index, v.1-20, 1961-1980
• Journal of California and Great Basin Anthropology (E 75 J63) v.1, 1979-to date
• News From Native California (E 78 C15 N48) v.1, 1987-to date
• Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) (PM 151 S8) ser.2, v.1, 1989-to date.  See also ASAIL
• Sun Tracks: An American Indian Literary Magazine (PS 501 S85) v.1-6, 1971-1980. (Later volumes cataloged separately)
• Tribal College (E 97.55 775) v.5, 1993-to date
• Wassaja (E 77 W38) v.1-7, 1973-1979. Merged with Indian Historian to form Wassaja, the Indian Historian. Resumed in newspaper format v.9-10, 1982-1983. Ceased publication
• Wassaja, the Indian Historian (E 77 W382) v.13, no.1-4, 1980. Ceased publication
• White Cloud Journal of American Indian Mental Health (RC 451.5 I5 W47) v.1-3, 1978-1984. Continued by American Indian and Alaska Mental Health Research

Additional items:

• Common Ground: Archaeology and Ethnography in the Public Interest (Docs I 29.59/5-2)
• Indian Country Today (only online)
• Native Americas (only online, 1994-2004 on Ethnic Newswatch)
• Wicazo Sa (only online, v.15, 2000-to date on Project Muse and Omnifile)