This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Anthropology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology Research Guide   Tags: anthropology, ethnography  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/Anthropology Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases - Highly Recommended

  • Anthropology Plus
    Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th century to present.
  • AnthroSource
    Comprehensive resource that provides full text access to contemporary and archived periodicals critical to the field of anthropology.
  • AnthroHub  Icon
    Full text journals and monographs produced by the Department of Anthropology at UC Berkeley together with searchable citations and links to anthropological works in all formats created by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists. Included are books, journal articles, book chapters, reference entries, book reviews, oral histories, obituaries and some gray literature, as well as images, sound recordings and audio-visual materials.
  • JSTOR
    Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Access to more than 13,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1975 to the present.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
    Provides a wide range of research resources, including subject coverage in the applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

Databases - Also Recommended

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Full text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage Dates: Varies; earliest begin in 1992 - present.
  • GenderWatch
    Full text access to popular and scholarly literature on topics such as gender, gender studies, women's studies, LGBT studies, sexuality, feminism, role in the workplace, healthcare, and religion.
  • America: History and Life
    Index to scholarly research on the history of the United States and Canada, from journals, book chapters, dissertations, and media.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Provides access to scholarly literature focusing on history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    Index to journals, books, conference papers and government reports from a wide range of social science disciplines from 1970 to the present.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Comprehensive database of scholarly literature from the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, with some coverage of criminology and criminal justice studies. The database provides access to abstracts, citations, and some full-text coverage of journal articles, serial publications, books, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • MLA Bibliography
    Comprehensive database providing access to scholarly literature on modern literatures, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
  • PsycINFO
    Psychology and related disciplines are covered with international scope. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records are indexed using the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Use these subject heading for the best results.
  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
    Provides access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences from around the world. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available full text.
 

Finding Full Text Articles

If you don't see the full text article, click on the "Find It @ HSU" icon:

"Find It" will look for your article in another HSU database, or direct you to the print journal on the 2nd floor of the library.

If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with no additional fee. Electronic articles can often arrive within 1-3 days.

Looking For A Specific Journal?

Use the Journal Finder to search for journal titles by name.

      

    Google Scholar

    From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.



     

    Citing Your Sources

    Citing Your Sources: Research Guide for most citation styles used at HSU.

    Online Tutorials: Videos and online tutorials to assist you with your research

     

    Searching by Article Citation

    If you have a reference to an article that includes the year, volume, issue and starting pages of your article, you may use the Citation Linker to locate it if the Journal and Newspaper Finder indicates that the full text of the journal is available in electronic format for the date(s) of interest. You may also use the Citation Linker to locate a document when all you have is the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or the PMID (PubMed ID Number).

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip