Skip to main content

Anthropology Research Guide

Search the Reference Collection

HSU Reference Collection
Search here to find reference sources at HSU.

Try these search terms:

  • Anthropology
  • Anthropology encyclopedias
  • Ethnography
  • Ethnology
  • Indians of North America
  • Social Sciences

Browse the Reference Collection

Use this guide to browse the Reference Collection (1st floor) for resources on Anthropology:

GN                      ANTHROPOLOGY
GN.49-298 Physical anthropology
GN.301-674 Cultural anthropology, ethnology
GN.700-890 Prehistoric archaeology
GR FOLKLORE  

.

Key Sources in Anthropology

This selection was compiled by retired librarian, Corryn Crosby-Muilenburg, and last updated March 2007


Dictionaries

  • Anthropological Glossary (ref GN 11 P43 1985)
  • Dictionary of Anthropology (ref GN 307 D485 1997)
  • Dictionary of Anthropology (ref GN 11 W5)
  • Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology (ref CC 70 M45 1993)
  • Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (ref GN 307 W56 1991)
  • Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology (ref GN 50.3 S74 1991)
  • Dictionary of Native American Literature (ref PM 155 D53 1994)
  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology (ref CC 70 K56 2000)
  • Penguin Archaeology Guide (ref CC 70 P46 2001)


Encyclopedias

  • Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia (ref CC 75 A654 2000)
  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution (ref GN 281 C345 1992)
  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers (ref GN 388 C35 1999)
  • Cambridge Illustrated History of Prehistoric Art (ref B 5310 B34 1998)
  • Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture & Social Life (ref GN 25 C65 1994)
  • Encyclopedia of Anthropology (ref GN 11 E52) Encyclopedia of Archaeology (ref CC 100 E54 2001)
  • Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (ref GN 307 E52 1996)
  • Encyclopedia of Evolution (ref GN 281 M53 1990)
  • Encyclopedia of Human Biology (ref QP 11 E53 1997)
  • Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory (ref GN 281 E53 2000)
  • Encyclopedia of Prehistory (ref GN 710 E53 2001)
  • Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (ref GN 307 E525 2002)
  • Encyclopedia of Taboos (ref GN 471.4 H65 2000)
  • Encyclopedia of the Third World (ref HC 59.7 E52 1992)
  • Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology (ref CC 77 U5 E53 1998)
  • Encyclopedia of World Cultures (ref GN 307 E53 1991)
  • Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (ref GN 496 L48 1994)
  • Historical Atlas of World Mythology (ref BL 311 C26 1983)
  • Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery (ref HT 861 H57 1997)
  • Historical Guide to World Slavery (ref HT 861 H59 1998)
  • Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind (ref GN 307 I44 1984)
  • International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (ref HQ 21 I 68 1998)
  • Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (ref GN 480 B76 1994)
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East (ref DS 56 O9 1997)
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (ref GN 333 W67 1998)


Handbooks

  • Anthropology of Religion: A Handbook (ref GN 470 A55 1997)
  • CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference (ref GN 476.73 J66 1999)
  • Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Human Sexuality (ref HQ 16 C37 1998)
  • Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook (ref GN 325 L46 1998)
  • Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (ref GN 345 N37 1998)
  • Handbook of Social and Cultural Anthropology (ref GN 315 H642)
  • Motif-index of Folk Literature (ref GR 67 T52 1955)
  • National Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference (ref HA 155 P37 1997)
  • Oxford Companion to Archaeology (ref CC 70 O96 1996)
  • Religious Cultures of the World: Statistical Resources (ref BL 85 P325 1997)


Literature Reviews

  • Annual Review of Anthropology (GN 1 A623)
  • Yearbook of Physical Anthropology (GN 49 Y43)


Indexes and Abstracts - see Articles and Databases - Anthropology


Guides to Research and the Literature

  • Anthropological Research: Process and Application (GN 397.5 A564 1992)
  • Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library and Museum Collections (ref GN 14 A77 1999)
  • Anthropology Journals and Serials (ref GN 1 W55)
  • Archaeology: A Bibliographical Guide to the Basic Literature (ref CC 165 H45)
  • Checklist of Smithsonian Institution Publications Relating to Anthropology Sources (ref GN 36 U52 W35)
  • Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information (ref GN 42 K53 1991)
  • Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies (ref GN 42 W47 1994)
  • Guide to the National Anthropological Archives (ref GN 17 G54 1992)
  • Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology (ref GN 42 W44 1998)
  • Keyguide to Information Sources in Archaeology (ref CC 120 W66 1984)
  • Serial Publications in Anthropology (ref GN 25547 1982)


Human Relations Area Files

  • Atlas of World Cultures, George P. Murdock (ref GN 345.3 M86 1981)
  • Atlas of World Cultures, David H. Price (atlas G 1046 E1 P7 1989)
  • Cross-Cultural Summary (abstr GN 307 T4)
  • Diversity and Homogeneity in World Societies (GN 405 B65)
  • Index to the Human Relations Area Files (ref microfiche MC 1639)
  • HRAF Source Bibliography (abstr GN 316 H85)
  • Nature and Use of the HRAF Files: A Research and Teaching Guide (abstr GN 316 H85 L25)
  • Outline of Cultural Materials (abstr GN 345.3 O95 1982)
  • Outline of World Cultures (abstr GN 345.3 M87 1983)
  • Worldwide Theory Testing (GN 345.7 N37)


Atlases

  • Atlas of Human Evolution (GN 282 B7 1979)
  • Atlas of Man (ref GN 378 A84)
  • Atlas of Mankind (ref GN 378 A85 1982b)
  • Atlas of the North American Indian (ref E 77 W195 2000)
  • Atlas of World Archaeology (ref CC 165 A85 2000)
  • Atlas of World Cultures, David H. Price (atlas G 1046 E1 P7 1989)
  • Atlas of World Population History (HB 851 M32 1978b)
  • Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology (atlas G 1046 E15 P3 1988)
  • World Atlas of Archaeology (atlas G 1046 E15 W6 1985)


Graduate Study/Careers

  • AAA Guide: A Guide to Departments/A Directory of Members (ref GN 43 A2 G84)
  • Careers in Anthropology (ref GN 41.8 C37 2002)
  • Guide to Careers in Physical Anthropology (ref GN 62 G85 2002)


Biographical Sources

  • International Dictionary of Anthropologists (ref GN 20 I5 1991)

Reference Resources at HSU

These reference materials may help your research:

Online Reference Collection

Reference Books Online