This is the "Home" page of the "Northwestern California/Klamath Bioregion Demographic, Social and Economic Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Northwestern California/Klamath Bioregion Demographic, Social and Economic Statistics   Tags: california, statistics  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/NWCalSocialStats Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

      
     

    Introduction

    This research guide to print and Internet resources lists major resources that provide demographic, social and economic statistics for northwestern California and the Klamath Bioregion. Listed are federal and California state statistical sources that provide data at least to the county level; and local reports that have been derived in many cases from federal and state sources. Key resources are noted with a pie chart () icon. 

     


    Source: CensusScope Charts and Trends

     

    General - All Counties

    • "California: the Golden State" IN Profiles of America: Facts, Figures and Statistics for Every Populated Place in the United States (Grey House) 2003 (ref HT 123 P7624 2003) Contains facts and statistics on the geography, weather, history, heath, population, religion, crime, economics, education, housing, and transportation for each California county. Also includes similar profiles for each incorporated municipality and many other census designated places and unincorporated places. Includes an alphabetical place name index.
    • California Facts: A Comprehensive Look at California Today, County by County (Clements) 1989 (ref F 856 F69 1989) A fact-filled narrative characterizing each county in California. 
    • City and County Data Book (University of Virginia Library Geospatial and Statistical Data Center) Updated at five year intervals (print copy available in ref HA 202 A36) US Census Bureau publication which contains demographic, social, and economic statistics at county, city, place, and state geographic levels.
    • California County Profiles (California Department of Finance): Humboldt CountyDel Norte County,Siskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMendocino County Annual statistical snapshot containing economic, social, and demographic data for each county. The main report covering all counties is available in pdf format. Each county report is available as an Excel spreadsheet.
    • CensusScope Charts and Trends (University of Michigan Social Science Data Analysis Network):Humboldt CountyDel Norte CountySiskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMenodcino County For each county includes charts and graphs that visualize demographic information for the county. Topics covered include population growth, race, age, household and family structure, education, language, migration, nativity, and income.
    • County Portraits of Oregon and Northern California (McGinnis, Phillips and Connaughton) 1996 (US Forest Service General Technical Report PNW-377) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88: PNW-377) For each county presents a six page profile that includes population characteristics over time; workforce characteristics; personal income; industrial base; contributions by forest, range and agriculture; and comparisons with the state as a whole.
    • MapStats Statistical Profiles (FedStats): Humboldt CountyDel Norte CountySiskiyou County,Trinity CountyMendocino County Contains brief demographic, economic and geographic profiles for each county. Also includes a link under each county to additional statistical sources.
    • Neighborhood Knowledge California (NKCA) (UCLA School of Public Policy and Social Research) User-friendly site for neighborhood research that produces maps, charts, and graphs from a database of California social, demographic and lending data. Its aim is to promote greater equity in housing and banking policy. Geographies that can be displayed include county, zip code, city, census tract, senate or assembly district, congressional district, or your own defined neighborhood. You can also upload your own spreadsheet information into NKCA's mapping system and analyse that information in conjunction with NKCA's datasets.
    •  Upstate California Statistical Profiles (Upstate California Economic Development Council):Humboldt CountyDel Norte CountySiskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMendocino County Series of 25 page statistical profiles for each of the 20 northern-most California counties.
    •  USA Counties (US Census Bureau) 1998. Presents demographic, economic, social and governmental data for a single county or for multi-county comparisons. The 5,000 variables include all of the data published in the County and City Data Book and in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book as well as other published sources. Data files are gathered from the Bureau of the Census and other Federal agencies, such as the Bureau of Economic Analysis, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the Social Security Administration. Topics covered include: age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force and employment, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, services industries, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, and wholesale trade.

    General - Individual Counties

    • Del Norte--Del Norte County 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 D4546 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
    • Del Norte--Del Norte County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 D454 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources.
    • Humboldt--Building Communities: a Discussion Paper for Community Workshops (Dyett & Bhatia) 2002. Prepared as a background report for the Humboldt County General Plan update process. Includes a overview of current and projected trends to 2025 for population; housing; employment; land use and development; and public services.
    • Humboldt--Humboldt 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 H8346 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
    • Humboldt--Humboldt County Demographic Data (Humboldt County Community Services Department) Includes demographic and economic information taken mostly for US Census and California Department of Finance data.
    • Humboldt--Humboldt County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 H834 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources.
    • Mendocino--Background Report for the County of Mendocino General Plan Update (Pacific Municipal Consultants) 2003. Prepared for the County of Mendocino this report provides a “snap shot” of existing conditions in the County and its environs. It provides provides data specific to the required elements of the General Plan, including population, demographics and housing; land use; economic development; infrastructure; transportation; recreation; open space and scenic resources; community facilities and services; natural environment; and hazards.
    • Menodcino--Mendocino County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 M464 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources. and policy reports, some of which are fulltext.
    • Siskiyou--Siskiyou County Demographics & Statistics (Siskiyou County)
    • Trinity--Trinity County 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 T56 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
        

      Agriculture

      • Del Norte--Del Norte County 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 D4546 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
      • Del Norte--Del Norte County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 D454 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources.
      • Humboldt--Building Communities: a Discussion Paper for Community Workshops (Dyett & Bhatia) 2002. Prepared as a background report for the Humboldt County General Plan update process. Includes a overview of current and projected trends to 2025 for population; housing; employment; land use and development; and public services.
      • Humboldt--Humboldt 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 H8346 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
      • Humboldt--Humboldt County Demographic Data (Humboldt County Community Services Department) Includes demographic and economic information taken mostly for US Census and California Department of Finance data.
      • Humboldt--Humboldt County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 H834 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources.
      • Mendocino--Background Report for the County of Mendocino General Plan Update (Pacific Municipal Consultants) 2003. Prepared for the County of Mendocino this report provides a “snap shot” of existing conditions in the County and its environs. It provides provides data specific to the required elements of the General Plan, including population, demographics and housing; land use; economic development; infrastructure; transportation; recreation; open space and scenic resources; community facilities and services; natural environment; and hazards.
      • Menodcino--Mendocino County Economic and Demographic Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HC 107.C22 M464 Humboldt County Collection) Compilation of data obtained from federal, state and local sources. and policy reports, some of which are fulltext.
      • Siskiyou--Siskiyou County Demographics & Statistics (Siskiyou County)
      • Trinity--Trinity County 2003 Economic and Demographic Profile (Center for Economic Development, California State University, Chico) 2003 (HC 107 C22 T56 2003 Humboldt County Collection) Includes statistics on health; welfare; crime; education; land, climate, and environment; largest employers; agriculture; and child welfare.
          

        Crime

        • California Criminal Justice Profiles (California Department of Justice. Criminal Justice Statistics Center) Annual publication that includes a separate Criminal Justice Profile for each county and for the state. Trend data are presented for crimes, arrests, arrest dispositions, criminal justice personnel and expenditures for the most recent 10 years. See also Statistics by City and County that includes statewide, county and city data.
        • Uniform Crime Reports County Data (University of Virginia Library Geospatial and Statistical Data Center) Contains county level crime data from 1990 to the present that has been reported to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Includes data for number of arrests (murder, rape, robbery, assault, burglary, larcency, auto theft, arson, forgery, fraud, embezzlement, vandalism, weapons violations, sex offenses, drug and alcohol violations, gambling, vagrancy curfew violations and runaways); and data for number of major crimes reported.
            

          Demography

          For historical census data see sources listed on Census Information.

          •  American FactFinder (US Census Bureau) Includes data from the Decennial population census, the annual American Community Survey, the Economic Census conducted every five years and annual economic surveys. Interactive ":reference maps" show selected geographic boundaries and features. "Thematic maps" show geographic patterns in statistical data, such as population or median income, displayed as color-coded areas on a map. Data is available for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, and blocks. Data can be displayed online or downloaded in a spreadsheet or database format.
          • Population Totals by Township and Place for California Counties: 1860 to 1950 (Gibson and California Department of Finance) Shows decennial census data on the population of California counties by minor civil division (usually judicial townships) and place from 1860 to 1950.
              

            Economic

            • American FactFinder: Economic Censuses and Surveys (US Cenusus Bureau) Contains data from the 1997 and 2002 Economic Census on the number of establishments; sales, receipts, revenue, shipments, or business done; payroll; and employment at the 2- through 8-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)(print copy available in ref HF1042 .N67 2002) code levels. Data is available for the U.S. at large and by state, county, place, and metropolitan area. One can navigate to a specific county or city at the Select Geography page.
            • County Business Patterns (US Census Bureau) Annual series that shows economic activity by county and zip code. Industries are grouped by the North American Industry Classification System (print copy available in ref HF1042 .N67 2002) For each industry shows number of establishments, aggregate payroll and number of employees. County Business Patterns covers businesses with paid employees. It should be used in conjunction with Nonemployer Statistics that covers businesses without paid employees (mostly self-employed individuals).
            • Labor Market Information (California Employment Development Department): Humboldt CountyDel Norte CountySiskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMendocino County For each county includes a county snapshot, major employers, monthly and historical labor force estimates, current and historical industry employment projections, size of businesses, occupational projections, income measures, social and economic data, and agricultural employment.
            • Census Bureau Economic Programs and How to Find the Latest Business Data (US Census Bureau) Guide to available data by Census Bureau program, date and geography. Use the tables to select the topic, time and geography of interest.
            • Del Norte County Retail Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HF 5429.4.C22 D454 Humboldt County Collection) Graphs show annual retail sales from 1978 to the present by geography and by major retail group.
            • Economy in Transition: The Klamath-Siskiyou Ecoregion (Klamath-Siskiyou Economic Report)(ECONorthwest) 1999. Prepared for the Klamath-Siskiyou Alliance.
            • Humboldt County Housing Affordability Index (Humboldt Association of Realtors) Monthly index that includes median home sale price, average mortgage rate, median household income, monthly payments, qualifying income and affordability index. Monthly time series starts with January 1999 and includes separate indexes for Humboldt County, Arcata, Eureka, Fortuna and McKinleyville.
            • Humboldt County Retail Almanac (North Coast Almanacs) annual (HF 5429.4.C22 H834 Humboldt County Collection) Graphs show annual retail sales from 1978 to the present by geography and by major retail group.
            • Humboldt Economic Index (Erick Eschker--Humboldt State University) Monthly report that tracks tracks six sectors of the Humboldt County economy--employment, energy consumption, home sales, lumber manufacturing, occupancy rates at hotels/motels/inns, and retail sales.
            • Long-Term Socio-Economic Forecasts by County (California Department of Transportation Office of Transportation Statistics) For each county a four page economic forecast to the year 2020 is given through text and charts. Updated every two years. Topics covered include population change, registered vehicles, households, employment, income, farm crop value, retail sales, and industrial production.
            • Out of Reach (National Low Income Housing Coalition): Humboldt CountyDel Norte CountySiskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMendocino County. Annually updated report that calculates the amount of money a household must earn in order to afford a rental unit of a range of sizes (0, 1, 2, 3, and 4 bedrooms) at the area’s Fair Market Rent (FMR), based on the generally accepted affordability standard of paying no more than 30% of income for housing costs. From these calculations the hourly wage a worker must earn to afford the FMR for a two bedroom home is derived. This figure is the Housing Wage. Supporting tables include number of households, annual incomes and Fair Market Rents.
            • Purchasing Power Profiles and Workforce Density Data for All Census Tracts and Residential ZIP Codes in U.S. (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute) Provides data on the scale and character of local household consumption by zip code, census tract or county. For a selected area tables give a workforce profile and an estimates of the total amount of household spending in 16 basic consumer expenditure categories.
            • Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) Online (US Census Bueau) Contains quarterly employment (total, net job flow, job creation, new hires, separations, and turnover) and earnings for counties, metropolitan statistical area or workforce investment board area from 1991 to within two years of the current date.. For each geographic area information can be displayed or downloaded by industry, sex, age group and time period. QWI measures the performance of the local economy-- where the jobs are, for what kind of workers, and how much workers can expect to make. For northwestern California navigate to California and select the county of interest.
            • Regional Accounts Data: Local Area Personal Income (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis) Also known as the Regional Economic Information System. Contains annual personal income information at the county, state, and metropolitan statistical levels. Includes personal income by major source, per capita personal income and earnings by industry.
            • Regional Economic Conditions (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation) For state, county and metropolitan statistical areas (MSA) presents data in a variety of maps, tables and charts. Data covers employment, income, bankruptcy filings and housing permits.
            • Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) (US Census Bureau) Provides annual estimates of selected income and poverty statistics for states, counties, and school districts. Included are estimates of poor children ages 5 to 17 in each school district. This source provides the best annual data on poverty and income at the county level.
            • Taxable Sales in California (California State Board of Equalization) (print copy available in Cal Docs E 3050 T35) Quarterly compilation of retail sales activity in California by county and city. The level of detail depends upon the size of the county or city. The most detailed tables give number of permits and taxable transactions by retail group.
            • The Wealth of Humboldt and the Klamath-Siskiyou Region: An Indicators Project (Humboldt State University Economics 309 Class) In three parts: 1) green business reports that evaluate the extent that businesses in Humboldt County are utilizing sustainable business practices; 2) industry cluster reports that research employment and income generated in each of the clusters identified in the Prosperity economic development plan for Humboldt County; and 3)capital indicators that report on natural, human, constructed and social indicators.
            • Zillow.com (Zillow.com) One can generate estimated home market values for a specific residential address, review prices of recently sold homes in the neighborhood, and get rankings that compare the home value to homes in a larger geographic area. Search by address or using a map interface that displays road and satellite imagery.
                

              Health

              • County Health Status Profiles (California Department of Health Services Center for Health Statistics) Annual compilation includes 26 key health indicators for mortality, morbidity, infant death, natality, breadfeeding and poverty. Individual county profiles are also available as Micosoft Excel spreadsheets.
              •  Health Data Summaries For California Counties (California Department of Health Services Center for Health Statistics) Annual (ref HA 261 H43--latest edition; Cal Doc H 1150 H41 and online for earlier editions) Includes over 150 health and socio-demographic indicators arranged by county, including Medi-Cal data, vital statistics, institution and health care provider information.
              • Vital Statistics of California (California Department of Health Services Center for Health Statistics) Annual (print copies available in ref HA 261 V57--latest edition; Cal Docs H1100.R4sv and online for earlier editions) Includes statewide, county and selected city data on births and deaths in California. Natality tables include information by age, sex, race, and marital status; and mortality tables include information by age, sex, race, and cause of death. The Vital Statistics Query System provides an interactive interface to obtain tabular summaries and statistical reports from California's birth and death vital statistics databases. Search by year, geography, and then by statistical category to output a custom table.
                  

                Transportation

                • Traffic Volumes on California State Highways (California Department of Transportation. Divison of Traffic Operations) Annual (print copy available in Cal Docs T 988 T71) Shows traffic volumes for all count locations on the California state highway system. Count data is arranged by highway route number. Data includes peak hour traffic, peak month average daily traffic and annual average daily traffic.
                • Travel and Related Factors in California (California Department of Transportation.Transportation System Information Program) Annual (Cal Docs T 1075 T828 1998) Includes statewide and some county level statistics on gasoline prices and consumption; vehicle kilometers of travel; highway kilometers; vehicle registrations; and traffic accidents.
                    
                  Description

                  Loading  Loading...

                  Tip