Submit to HDS
Humboldt Digital Scholar Submission Guidelines
All first-time users must contact HDS Administrator to be registered before submitting to Humboldt Digital Scholar.
Once registered, you may deposit your work directly into the HSU Faculty Scholarship Collection and/or into collections within an existing Community or Sub-community for which you are authorized. All items in the HSU Faculty Scholarship Collection will be publicly available once you have agreed to the HDS License Agreement; items in other collections may have access restrictions.
If you would rather have your academic unit set up its own Community or Collection or if you need restricted access to your submissions, please contact the HDS Administrator.
There are 9 simple steps to depositing your research and scholarship into Humboldt Digital Scholar:
Make sure that the item to be deposited is a finished, complete work of research or scholarship OR that it is data that supports your research or scholarship. If the work has been published, review the HDS Copyright Policy and your publisher's policy on archiving in an institutional repository. You also may contact HDS Administrator for assistance.
Examples of items HDS accepts:
- Working papers, discussion papers, technical reports
- Published articles (where copyright allows)or preprints
- Conference papers, presentations, and posters (where copyright allows)
- Publications from academic units where there is a substantive scholarship portion
- Video and audio of special lectures and speeches
We are not currently accepting course related material (syllabi, notes, etc.).
If you have questions about whether content is appropriate or on copyright issues, please contact the HDS Administrator.
If you have submitted previously, go to My Humboldt Digital Scholar (http://humboldt-dspace.calstate.edu/xmlui/submissions), log in, and click “Start a New Submission”, then go to Step 3, below.
First-time users - complete registration in Humboldt Digital Scholar. Visit:
Enter your email address and click “register.” The system will return the message: "email already in use".
Go ahead and click on "reset password". An email will be sent in response.
Follow the link in the email to a page where you will enter and confirm your password. After password entry, click on "reset password".
At the next page that comes up, click on "Go to Humboldt Digital Scholar home".
At the menus on the right side under “My Account,” click on "Submissions" and then (on the next page that comes up) "Start a new submission".
If you are registered for more than one Collection, select a Collection from the drop-down menu and click "Next". If you are registered for only one Collection, it should appear in the box. Click “Next”.
Provide the necessary descriptive information for the item. The only required fields are:
- type of resource
- year of publication or distribution
- one subject keyword
We recommend that you supply additional keywords and an abstract or summary to help people locate your research more easily. Fill in funding sources and description if they apply. Click "Next" for an additional screen of descriptive information. No information on this page is required. Click "Next".
Upload your file that you wish to deposit. If you have a multi-file item, you will need to upload those one at a time. You may only upload one discrete item at a time. Click "Upload File".
Verify that your file uploaded successfully. If you have a multi-file item, you have the option to upload additional files.
Verify that your deposit is complete and correct. You can correct the descriptive information you have provided. If complete and correct, click "Next".
Read the HDS License Agreement and click "I Grant the License" if you agree to the terms of the agreement. You must approve the agreement before you can deposit your item. Your submission is complete.
By default, items in Humboldt Digital Scholar have no access restrictions, that is, they are openly and freely available via the web. Open access to deposited items encourages dissemination and use of the research produced at Humboldt State University. The Library strongly encourages depositors not to place access restrictions on deposited items.
However, there may be some situations when depositors need to restrict access to items in HDS. For example, a publisher may allow deposit of published articles into an institutional repository, but may place an embargo of six months before the article may be made publicly accessible. Such a postprint might be deposited into HDS, but no access to the item would be allowed for a period of six months. Please note, the descriptive information, such as title, author, abstract, etc., about all items in HDS are available on the web, only access to the full document will be restricted.
Access restrictions may be imposed at the Collection or the item level. The individual depositor or HDS Collection Liaison makes the decision whether to impose access restrictions.
Access restrictions on an item or a Collection of items may be set at one of the following levels:
1. Restricted to Humboldt State University community members with an HSU User ID.
2. Restricted to a specific group defined and maintained within HDS.
If an individual depositor or HDS Collection decides to limit access to a specific group (Level 2), the individual depositor or HDS Collection Liaison must take responsibility for the continued maintenance of this group. HDS staff takes responsibility for ensuring access is restricted to the Humboldt State University community members (Level 1).
Access restrictions will be set to automatically expire after six months. Access restrictions may also be set to some other specific period of time or may be lifted sooner by request.
Questions? Contact HDS Administrator.
Humboldt Digital Scholar
NON-EXCLUSIVE DISTRIBUTION LICENSE
By submitting this license, you (the author(s) or copyright owner) grant to Humboldt Digital Scholar the non-exclusive right to reproduce, translate (as defined below), and/or distribute your submission (including the abstract) worldwide in print and electronic format and in any medium, including but not limited to audio or video.
You agree that Humboldt State University may, without changing the content, translate the submission to any medium or format for the purpose of preservation.
You also agree that Humboldt State University may keep more than one copy of this submission for purposes of security, back-up and preservation.
You represent that the submission is your original work, and that you have the right to grant the rights contained in this license. You also represent that your submission does not, to the best of your knowledge, infringe upon anyone's copyright.
If the submission contains material for which the author does not hold copyright, the author is responsible for ensuring that: such third-party material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission AND permission to freely distribute the content has been obtained from the copyright owner OR access to the third-party content is restricted to fair use.
IF THE SUBMISSION IS BASED UPON WORK THAT HAS BEEN SPONSORED OR SUPPORTED BY AN AGENCY OR ORGANIZATION OTHER THAN HUMBOLDT STATE UNIVERSITY, YOU REPRESENT THAT YOU HAVE FULFILLED ANY RIGHT OF REVIEW OR OTHER OBLIGATIONS REQUIRED BY SUCH CONTRACT OR AGREEMENT.
Humboldt State University will clearly identify your name(s) as the author(s) or owner(s) of the submission, and will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission.
Revised September 18, 2012