This is the "HDS FAQ" page of the "About Humboldt Digital Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Humboldt Digital Scholar  

The new help pages for HDS.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/content.php?pid=601949 Print Guide RSS Updates

HDS FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FAQ

Humboldt Digital Scholar Frequently Asked Questions

Below are answers to some of the questions asked most frequently about Humboldt Digital Scholar. If you have a question which is not answered here, please contact the HDS Administrator.

Why should I deposit scholarship/research in Humboldt Digital Scholar?

Doesn't posting my research in Humboldt Digital Scholar violate the copyright agreements that I have with the journals that publish my articles?

Is Humboldt Digital Scholar different from or better than my own web site?

Who determines what may be deposited in Humboldt Digital Scholar? Who sets the standards?

How does Humboldt Digital Scholar differ from a discipline-specific archive?

Who has access to material stored in Humboldt Digital Scholar? What materials are restricted, why, and to whom?

How do I establish a Collection?

How do I submit materials to Humboldt Digital Scholar?

Can I make changes to an item once I’ve deposited it into HDS?

How do I decide which terms to use to describe my submission?

Can I link to my papers in HDS from my own web site?

Can I withdraw items?

What is open access and how does it relate to Humboldt Digital Scholar?

 

How to search Humboldt Digital Scholar

The main search box on the upper right searches either all of HDS or only the Collection you are in, depending upon the options you set.  The list you see under any Collection is just the most recent five submissions NOT the entire Collection, so use the search function or the discovery facets on the right side.

To see a listing of everything in a Collection: Check the This Collection radio button on the search box and click on go.

Search box 

The default search is to look for all of the words that you input.  The Boolean operator AND is the default. Therefore searching [ fish fowl ] retreives a small result.

The terms that you enter in search are automatically "stemmed" to search all possible terms beginning with...  Therefore searching [swim] retreives items with swim, swimming, swimmer, and swims.

You may broaden your search by entering terms connected by OR, requiring either term to be present.  Therefore searching [fish OR fowl] retreives a large result. NOTE: OR MUST BE IN CAPITAL LETTERS.


You may search for a phrase by enclosing it in quotation marks.  Therefore searching for "does age matter" retreives a very specific result as compared to just entering the words.

Searching reaches into the full text of most of the textual documents in the archive, not just what you can see in the descriptive record.  When you've searched and retreived items based on the full text, a bit of the text will appear below each result.

Once you have a set of results you may use the filters to further narrow your results.  You may also use the discovery facets on the right.  If you're still interested, check out Advanced Searching.

 

HDS Copyright Policy

Humboldt Digital Scholar Copyright Policy

Below are general policies and guidelines about copyright and intellectual property in relationship to Humboldt Digital Scholar. If you have a question that you do not see answered here, please contact HDS Administrator.

If you hold copyright:

If you hold copyright over an item deposited in HDS you retain that copyright. All copyright holders must agree to a non-exclusive distribution and preservation license that allows us to disseminate the deposited work over the web and make copies of that work for preservation purposes. The copyright holder may distribute or formally publish their work in the same or different form without obtaining permission or notifying HDS staff. The HDS page will explicitly state that the deposited work is protected by copyright. HDS does not seek or claim copyright on any deposited works, nor does it seek revenue from deposited works.

If you do deposit this material into HDS, you must agree to the terms in the non-exclusive distribution and preservation license for HDS. This allows us to disseminate the deposited work over the web and make copies of that work for preservation purposes.

Depositing your work in HDS automatically provides a time and date stamp that will verify your expression of an idea or document your research at a given point in time.

If you have signed copyrights over to a third party:

If you have signed over your copyright to a publisher or other third party, you may still be able to deposit that work into HDS.

More and more publishers, whether commercial or non-profit, will permit the deposit of a pre-print or a post-print online and include this permission into their copyright agreement with authors. If you would like to know what your publisher permits, visit the Sherpa Web site at http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo.php and search or browse for the name of your publisher. If your publisher is not listed in the Sherpa database, HDS staff would be happy to help you investigate this issue with your publisher. When you publish you can also negotiate to submit your work to HDS. SPARC offers useful resources for authors on copyright issues at http://www.arl.org/sparc/resources/copy.html. If you have permission to deposit this material into HDS, you must agree to the terms in the non-exclusive distribution and preservation license for HDS. This allows us to disseminate the deposited work over the web and make copies of that work for preservation purposes. If there are specific conditions that the copyright holder makes for the deposit of the material (for example, that it must include the citation information or must be embargoed for a specific period of time) please contact HDS Administrator.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip