Children's Literature Collection
The Children's Literature Collection is a select representative collection of books for children from preschool through grade eight which is maintained to support the HSU academic curricula. This collection of approximately 10,000 volumes is located in the northwest corner of the second floor of the HSU Library. There are three sections:
- Picture books (call number E - for easy), shelved in alphabetical order, by author.
- Fiction (call number x), shelved in alphabetical order, by author.
- Nonfiction (call number in Dewey Decimal system), shelved in numerical order. Includes folk tales and fairy tales from all countries in 398.2, poetry collections in 811-821, and biography in 921; these sections are shelved separately, in the low shelving. Materials in foreign languages are in 438-495.
Books in the Children's Literature Collection are listed in the Library catalog. "Limit" to "Children's Literature Collection," to search for books in this collection only. A simple keyword search without limiting, but using the phrase "juvenile literature" is also effective, e.g., cats "juvenile literature". A call number search will produce a list of books as they should be on the shelves, including items checked out. Try this: eSendak? and search within "call number". Then you can scroll next and previous, you can mark records and email them to yourself.
Books ABOUT Children's Literature
The Children's Literature Collection includes books read by children, but it does not include books on the subject of children's literature. In order to find information about children's books, children's authors, and using books with children, consult the Library catalog. The primary subject headings to be checked are:
- Children's literature
- Children's stories
- Children--Books and reading
- Illustrated books, Children's
- Picture books for children
- Teenagers--Books and reading
- Young adult fiction
- Young adult literature
- Young adults--Books and reading
- Youth--Books and Reading
- Blume, Judy
- Sendak, Maurice (etc.)
Browsing in the main book collection is another good way to find books about children's literature. The two primary areas where these books are located are: PN 1009 and Z 1037; other areas are LB 1575 and PR 990.
The following textbooks offer different approaches to children's literature. Each includes lists of recommended children's books as well as criteria for evaluating these books.
- Kiefer. Charlotte Huck's Children's Literature (LB 1575.5 U5 H79 2007)
- Lukens. A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature(PN 1009 A1 L84 2012)
- Norton. Through the Eyes of a Child: an Introduction to Children's Literature(Z1037A1 N68 2007)
- Sutherland. Children and Books(PN 1009 A1 S879 1997)
- Lukens. A Critical Handbook of Literature for Young Adults(PS 490 L84 1995)
- Nilsen. Literature for Today's Young Adults(Z 1037 A1 L58 2012)
- Nodelman. The Pleasures of Children's Literature (Z 1037 A1 N63 2002)