This is the "Current Awareness in the Sciences" page of the "Current Awareness in the Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Awareness in the Sciences   Tags: science  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/CAS Print Guide RSS Updates
Current Awareness in the Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Scholarly Literature

In addition to the following services many other journal publishers have alerting services for the contents of journals they publish.

  • ACM Digital Library
    (HSU users only)- set up profiles for table of contents alerts for Association for Computing Machinery journals and proceedings. HSU users have access to the online fulltext of new articles.
  • ACS Publications
    (HSU users only) - receive notification of individual articles to be published in a specific American Chemical Society journal (ASAP alerts) or to receive the entire Table of Contents (TOC alerts) when the journal is published.
  • Annual Reviews
    Customize email alerts or RSS feeds to receive specific notifications about topics in which you are interested and when new articles cite an included review paper.
  • BIOSIS Previews
    (HSU users only) - convert searches to email alerts or RSS feeds that notify you of new matching research.
  • E-PRINT Network Alert Service
    Create a search strategy that will be matched against each new weekly update to a database of research materials of interest to Department of Energy researchers.
  • Forest Science Database
    (HSU users only) - Create a subject alert.
  • Google Scholar
    Create subject keyword alerts.
  • Highwire Press
    Create an table of contents alert, subject keyword alert, or a citation alert for articles that cite a specific paper for the journals published by Highwire Press.
  • IngentaConnect
    Create subject or table of contents alerts from the database of more than 12,000 journals.
  • Oxford Journals
    (HSU users only) - set up keyword, author, or table of contents alerts for individual Oxford journals; or a citation alert when a specific article has been cited by another author.
  • Science.gov
    Establish profiles for weekly alerts of government-sponsored research and development reports from more than 1700 government information resources and 30 databases.
  • ScienceDirect
    (HSU users only) - set up "New Issue" alerts, subject alerts, or "Citation" alerts (where you are notified when a paper cites an earlier paper you specify) for journals published by Elsevier. HSU users have access to the online fulltext of most new articles.
  • SpringerLink
    (HSU users only) - create table of contents alerts or keyword alerts for more than 1,500 Springer journals.
  • Wiley Online Library
    (HSU users only) - create subject keyword or table of contents alerts for Wiley-Interscience/Blackwell journals. HSU users have access to the online fulltext of new articles.

Science Blogs

Blogs have become a contemporary way to exchange information and keep current for scientists who prefer to get information from their peers. Blogs may be from individuals (faculty, researchers, grad students) or from organizations (journals, corporations, newswires). Many of the best blogs also link to other influential blogs on the same topic. You can also create RSS feeds for individual blogs in your RSS reader. Sources for identifying science blogs include:

Science News

Listed below are news services that offer free regular email or RSS feeds to which you can subscribe are listed. For coverage of environmental news see Environmental Science -- Current Awareness/News.

For lists of sites that report science news on a regular basis that you can read online see Open Questions: Science News Sites.

Hot Papers and Topics

There are other subscription services, e.g., Faculty of 1000 and Scopus that also list hot papers but which are not available at the HSU Library.

Listed below are sites that list hot papers in specific subject areas:

  • Hot Articles
    (ExLibris) Lists the ten most frequently recommended articles by discipline in the BX recommender database.
  • JSTOR
    (HSU users only) - For each journal in the database lists the top 25 articles "Most Cited" by other journals in JSTOR, and the top 25 articles "Most Accessed" in the last three years.
  • Mendeley
    This social networking and reference manager site lists the 20 top linked papers by discipline and subdiscipline from among more than 35 million papers in the database.
  • ScienceDirect
    (Elsevier) (HSU users only) For each journal in the database lists the top 25 "Most Cited Articles " since 2007 in the Scopus database, and the top 25 "Most Downloaded" articles in the last 90 days.
  • ScienceWatch
    (Thomson Reuters) Weekly review of leading scientists, journals, institutions, countries, hot papers and hot topics in the sciences. Update frequency varies depending on the area. Data is derived from Web of Science and Essential Science Indicators.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip